Which notebook best suits my needs?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kmendoza, Nov 5, 2008.

1. kmendoza macrumors newbie

so i switched over to a mac because of repeated friends telling me that mac's were better for what i'm going to be doing in the long run

I recently got a used PowerBook G4 15" lcd, It has been upgraded to 1 gb fam , 60gb hd 1.33mhz

but i'm wondering is this going to be enough for what i'll be doing? or should i sell this one and get one of the newer models (as at times it feels awfully slow compared to my old PC)
    (not sure if i should go with macbook or macbook pro (as portability /space is an issue for me)

the programs i will be using are mainly photoshop (for graphic designing/and print work doing custom card and web designing - but i'm also going to be using garageband quite often as i'm an aspiring singer wanting to record/make my own beats and music)

And i'm fairly new to macs as i've had a PC all my y li and probably because i'm not used to the mac - i don'i don't know if the powerbook is a little outdated.. for me because i also have TONS and TONS of photos (of my children etc etc) and maybe might do a little gaming - nothng serious like playing WoW or anything.. but just want to be able to have a camera so that i can post video's on youtube (nerdy i know but hey only way to get exposed in the music industry -- it's a start smile.gif )..

any advice for a mac newbie is greatly appreciated. my budget is is around 2k if not less (hoping more on the lesser side as my girls take up most of my shopping money smile.gif )

2. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

Get the 2.0GHz MacBook. No only is it the best value computer that Apple currently sells, but it will also meet your needs perfectly.

3. kmendoza thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank You so much. for your quick response.

Would anything above that be overkill? (that's the last thing i want lol if i can avoid overspending the better!):)