Which Notebook For Engineering Degree?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ag227, Jun 5, 2008.

1. ag227 macrumors regular

Hey,

I have been using apple pcs for the last 2 years and have owned a 2Ghz Macbook, Then 2.4Ghz 20" iMac, Then a 2.4Ghz Blackbook... Now unfortuently its a Dell XPSM1530 :(

I am looking into which Notebook would be best for me starting my first year of an engineering degree in september, i have just finished my foundation year today. For the first year of the degree mechanical and electrical follow the same course and at the momment im not sure which of these im going to do but thats not a problem.

I will be living at home as its only 10miles from the uni and about a 20minute drive and dont see the point in wasting £4000 a year for accomodation. So because of this it needs to be portable as i will be carrying it around all day with me at uni, so this rules out the 17" macbook pro.

I just dont know how graphicaly itensive engineering programs are? Whether the macbook will last me 3 years with all the programs fine or if it makes more sense to get the baselevel macbook pro?

I also prefer the 15" screen as i use my notebooks alot for watching films, tv shows, general internet and music, but i know that all of them can handle that so that doenst matter.

The majority of the programs that i will be running are windows only but i cant stand it for using in my spare time and really regret buying this XPSM1530 even though its half the price of the macbook pro. So will the macbook pro be better at running these applications in windows using parallels than the macbook because of the graphics?

Either way im not going to get one until atleast well into july/august but i am trying to budget myself so i can afford whatever i need.

So basically what i am asking is...

Does the macbook pro make more sense for use as a notebook for engineering at uni and then at work than a macbook?