Resolved Which of these PowerMac G5's should I buy?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by KeegM480, Nov 1, 2013.

?

Which PowerMac Should I Buy?

  1. Cinema Display, Hard Drive Issue

    17 vote(s)
    89.5%
  2. Low Spec, No Issue

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. High Specs, Fan Issue

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Mid Spec, No Issue

    2 vote(s)
    10.5%
  1. KeegM480, Nov 1, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2013

    KeegM480 macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #1
    I am wanting a PowerMac G5, I have found two for the same price but are very different

    Option 1:
    Dual 2GHz PowerPC G5
    2 HD's (80GB & 250GB)
    1 GB RAM
    Silver Cinema Display
    Hard drives will not allways allow you to write on them

    Option 2:
    Dual 1.8GHz Power PC G5
    80GB HD
    2GB RAM
    No issues, no monitor

    Option 3:
    Dual 2GHz PowerPC G5
    400GB HD
    4GB RAM
    Fans do not turn off even when the power is off
    No monitor

    Option 4:
    Dual 1.8GHz PowerPC G5
    160GB HD
    2GB RAM
    No issue, no monitor

    I'm really torn between 1 & 4 I really want the Cinema Display but I'm nervous about the Hard drive issue

    I don't need people to be 100% accurate just looking for a bit of advise
     
  2. zackkmac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #2
    Option 1 for the fact that it includes the display, fastest processors, and the HDs can be replaced and usually for very cheap. Could even throw in an SSD or two in there.
     
  3. Aameiel macrumors regular

    Aameiel

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Location:
    Cape Coral, FL
  4. sarthak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Go with #1 could be an issue with permissions since the drives don't allow writing, maybe a bad OS install or it could be something even worse (failing drives). You could always replace them.

    With #3, it could be a power supply issue or something that can't by fixed by simple fan replacement or PRAM/SMC/CUDA/etc. resets.
     
  5. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #5
    I plan on getting an SSD or hybrid for my MBP so if it's a Hard Drive issue I will just put my 500GB from my MacBook Pro in that :)
    Sounds like a plan haha

    Didn't think about the permissions or OS install... That would be really nice! That was my concern about #3 it sounded like a bigger issue
     
  6. zackkmac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #6
    Would be awesome if a fresh OS install would fix the HD issue. :) I also agree with your idea of throwing your MBP's old drive in there. That would work!
     
  7. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #7
    Cool, do you know if the PowerMac running Leopard (with 2GHz Dual Core0 runs netflix/youtube?
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    PowerPC can't do Netflix, but G5s can do YouTube rather well.
     
  9. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #9
    ok cool! Should be able to run my classes that use Java then
     
  10. G51989 macrumors 68030

    G51989

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    NYC NY/Pittsburgh PA
    #10
    PowerPC can't run Netflix as Netflix uses Microsoft Silverlight, I have heard of some people getting an older beta of Silverlight to work, but it appears to be a huge pain in the ass.

    Netflix is also moving to an HTML 5 based player, so depending on what support PPC browsers will have for HTML 5, Netflix may come back to PPC macs.
     
  11. ihuman:D macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    That "hack" doesn't work. It just tricks the installer but the app is still Intel-Only.
     
  12. tampasteve macrumors 6502

    #12
    1 or 4...but 1 if you have the choice. HDD can be replaced for cheaper than a cinema display.
     
  13. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #13
    I guarantee You I wouldn't buy the cinema display, I have on OK dell monitor I could use, I am meeting the person with the 2GHz G5 & Cinema Display tomorrow after I drop my MBP off at the Apple Store :)
     
  14. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #14
    Option 1 seems tempting, but if both hard drives don't always write, maybe the issue isn't the HDs themselves? So replacing them might not solve the issue.
     
  15. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #15
    I'll have to check when I meet the guy
     
  16. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #16
    Working on getting the airport to work and it actually had a 380 & 80 GB Hard Drive, it runs pretty good, I think the airport card is bad so I'm installing one from my iMac hopefully it works!
     

    Attached Files:

  17. tampasteve macrumors 6502

    #17
    Nice! Congratulations, they are great machines.:apple:
     
  18. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #18
    Yea! Working great, got the airport to work! Happy to say this post is my my G5 :)
     
  19. bizzle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #19
    Do you live near NJ by any chance? I have a quad 2.5ghz that was all cleaned up and checked out by myself (I am an ACMT) that I'd love to give away.
     
  20. sucramdi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Quebec
    #20
    If you really want the cinema display go for it, replacing the hard drive would be cheaper than getting a cinema display display to go with one of the other ones.
     
  21. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #21
    Not a big deal, I can use my MacBook Pro... when it is actually working.

    Close..ish, Im in Michigan, I would have loved to pick yours up though, I would be surprised if it doesn't sell fast.

    I haven't noticed any issues with the Hard Drive, about to install Windows 7 to the smaller one, but the big hard drive has been working flawlessly, a little loud but oh well.


    So you guys can see, I got it all setup and running well :)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page