Which of these RAM stcks are the best?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by theking79, May 7, 2011.

  1. theking79 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #1
    looking for 2x4GB sticks for my iMac in my sig, I have no experience with upgrades whatsoever, so im looking for some opinions from you guys who know a lot more than me.

    im looking to spend around the £50-£65 mark on some 2 x 4GB sticks

    i have these so far that look reasonable

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-204...F8ZG/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1304789814&sr=8-7

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Komputerbay...TDPI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1304789814&sr=8-1

    http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/partspecs.aspx?imodule=CT2KIT51264BC1067&cpe=pd_google_uk

    would all of these work in my imac?

    What are your opinions on these? would like to know what experience you have had with brands, also are there better deals out there?, would love to know.

    thanks.
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Get the first one. The second aren't the right physical size, and the last one is slower than the memory you already have in it. Check your sig, your i7 is 3.4GHz ;)
     
  3. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #4
    ^THIS


    Crosair is good, the others wont fit.
     
  4. theking79 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
  5. theking79 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #6
    anyone know if i can keep my old RAM and have 10GB RAM, is it possible?

    if so, in what order do you place the sticks in the slots? (from top left to top right)
     
  6. theking79 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Edit: oops I meant 12GB , is it possible to have 2x2GB and 2x4GB in the iMac?
     
  7. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #8
    Yes, the iMac has 4 Ram slots.

    Also there is an "Edit" button, no need to double or tripple post...which you should know...Join Date 2009
     
  8. theking79 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #9
    i sent the second post on my iPhone, so i couldn't edit the one i made on my desktop.

    what order do the sticks have to be in?

    for ex: 2GB 2GB
    4GB 4GB


    or: 2GB 4GB
    2GB 4GB
     
  9. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #10
    ^
    It's better to do matched pairs for dual-channel bandwidth.
     
  10. theking79 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #11
    so you mean :

    2GB 2GB
    4GB 4GB ?

    do you mean horizontally or vertically?
     
  11. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #12
    Yes

    Doesn't matter if i'm not mistaken, it's not a Mac Pro there's no specific method. Use this video as a guide.
     
  12. ogee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Earth.
    #13
    Im curious…why do you say the Crucial memory is slower ? Both are DDR3 1066 and the latency (CL) of the crucial is 7 rather than the corsairs 9 clock cycles. I would have thought Crucial is the touch faster.
     
  13. iRobby macrumors 6502a

    iRobby

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL USA
    #14
    I'd think the last ones were best since they are 4BG x2 slots instead of 2GB x 4 slots. and lets you keep the original Apple sticks 2GBx2 in the extra 2 slots giving you 12GB not 8GB. The first one wouldn't allow for the expansion.
     
  14. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #15
    The 1st and the 3rd are the same type: 2x 4GB and 4GB x2

    Corsair - Memory - 8 GB : 2 x 4 GB - SO DIMM 204-pin
    Means 2 times 4 GB not 4 times 2 GB
     
  15. wedgeman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    #16
    Steer clear of Komputerbay.

    Corsair and Crucial build their own cards. Personally I like Crucial because they use Samsung and Hynix chipsets, both of which are very reliable.

    Komputerbay appears to be a joke/scam group of some sort..

    I recently posted in a different thread about Komputerbay and my sad experience which cost me far more hassle and aggravation than I might have saved with their cheap pricing.

    My advice - stick with a name brand.. Apple uses Crucial in general. But anything that is Samsung, Hynix, or Micron based should be good.

     
  16. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #17
    Crucial uses Micron chips, because Crucial IS Micron.

    My 2011 imac uses Elpida ram. Which is a foundry that makes ram for other companies such as OCZ, kingston and so on.

    All ram is pretty much the same. You just get whatever fits.
     

Share This Page