Which one?! MacBook or MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by madbad01, Jun 30, 2008.

1. madbad01 macrumors member

Hi Mac enthusiasts,

So I'm in my last year at school and then off to college in London and I need a laptop. Right now I have a 24" Aluminum iMac 2.4GHz and I'm thinking about a MacBook Pro 15" 2.4GHz.

My iTunes folder is over 230GB and growing so I know a HD upgrade may be in order. I'm totally anal about everything matching so that's why a MacBook or a black Macbook are what I'm considering. I've got an iPhone but I'm waiting for a black iPhone 3G. Everything needs to be black and silver! :D

Anyway, I use my Mac for a lot of emailing, internet and a ton of DVD watching and iTunes video playback while I work. I also use iWork '08 a bunch plus a little light video editing in iMovie and iDVD. I don't move my laptop much outside my house because at school I use my iPhone to email homework, assignments etc. to myself (looking forward to MobileMe!).

Which should I go for? A black MacBook or a MacBook Pro?!

All opinions are appreciated, thanks in advance! :)

2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

In your situation, I'd probably save a little money and go with the black MacBook but that's just me personally. The MacBook Pro is an amazing machine and will essentially pack all of the power that you currently have in your iMac into a smaller package.

All-in-all I think the MacBook will suit your needs but you can't overlook the power of a MacBook Pro if you don't mind nearly doubling the price.

Hope this helps.

3. crobbins macrumors 6502