Which photoshop program is for me?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hansiedejong, Mar 28, 2010.

1. hansiedejong macrumors regular

Hi,

I'm new to the mac and just bought it (not a real reason). So now I just want to design some nice logos, edit some easy photo's and do some other easy stuff with photo's because I think it will be pretty cool. But which Apple program is the best for me as beginner!

So a program that isn't boring, what's fun and where I'm going to be addicted to!!

Which program for a beginner?

I already made a list: Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Photoshop Elements, Pixelmator, Lightroom, Aperture and for the logos Adobe Illustrator.

Which one?

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

Photoshop might not be what you really want, it can be fun, but depending on your skills and will to learn, to use PS in the beginning might be a little bit frustrating.

Photoshop Elements might be better suited for you, as it is made "simpler" to get results faster.

Lightroom is more like a photo management software with some retouching and development tools attached, which are quite strong, but maybe not as fun as you'd like.

Then there is Pixelmator, which I don't know nothing about.

Then there is Gimp, which is free, and while hard to get used to, can get some pretty good results.

Then there is iPhoto, which comes with iLife, so look on Apple's site what it can do, or open it.

Also know that all the applications you talked about have trials, so in order to find out what is best for you, download them and try them out.

We don't know what do you want to do with what kind of images, so it is better you try it yourself, or tell us what you want to do.

3. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member