Which printer would you recommend (for student)?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by bsheridan, Oct 20, 2008.

1. bsheridan macrumors 6502

bsheridan

On the Apple store there is a £60 rebate when you buy a printer with your mac. Which printer would you recommend from the 'Great first printer' section on the Apple online store?

I am a student so although these seem cheap, the printer cartridge refills may be pricey. Does anyone have any experience with them and would you recommend?
    I'm looking to print mostly A4 pages, b/w and colour and mainly text. Speed is not a major issue, just reliability with a Mac.

Thanks for your help,
    b.

2. techound1 macrumors 68000

techound1

Before you choose, take a look at the prices for aftermarket inks/toners. They'll be much cheaper than the manufacturer's prices.

3. ATimson macrumors regular

Any of them will work well enough; my sister and I have been happy with our HP PhotoSmart C4480s.

My personal choice would be a laser printer (I only got the C4480 for free for the scanner part), but if you want color that's not quite so affordable!

4. GamaFu macrumors regular

As a college student myself, I find a monochrome laser printer better suit our needs. Since we basically only print black and white, and ink just costs a lot more, a laser printer should be a better choice for us. In Canada, you can usually find black and white laser printer on sale for less than $60 CAD or even less if you're lucky. I don't know if the situation is similar in UK though. I bought a Samsung ML-2240 which comes with a 700 pages Starter Toner Cartridge. You should not need to worry about the toner for few years if you only print notes and your paper/essay etc. I will just replace the whole printer with another cheap laser printer when that day comes. :)

5. wordmunger macrumors 603

wordmunger