Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pettit423

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 22, 2011
I'm looking to buy a new mac book pro very soon. My plan is to wait until April until the sandy bridge processors come out. My question is which size processor do should I get. I want the 15in MBP so theres three/four processors. I'm a engineering student so I run AutoCAD and photoshop but thats it for school. I also like to rip and edit movies using handbrake and other programs like that.

I was going to get the 2.8 i7 processor but I dont know if its really worth the money.

Anyone's thoughts would be great.

Thanks

brentsg

macrumors 68040
Oct 15, 2008
If those are the apps that are important to you then you are best to get the most CPU power that you can. They will need it.

Personally I wouldn't purchase a notebook if those were my intended apps.

SuperCachetes

macrumors 65816
Nov 28, 2010
Away from you
If those are the apps that are important to you then you are best to get the most CPU power that you can. They will need it.

Personally I wouldn't purchase a notebook if those were my intended apps.

C'mon... Don't let fancy software brand names make your imagination run wild. I have a 2.53 c2d MBP and I run AutoCAD and Photoshop inside Parallels with no issues whatsoever. When you start talking 200MB Revit models, then yeah, you might want to max out every number and every checkbox on the order form.

OP, are you planning on waiting for a SB machine, or are you just waiting for the markdowns on the current machines? Because if you are are waiting for Sandy Bridge, there really isn't much point in speculating about purchases until they appear in MBPs. And who said it was April?