which program to use JB and Unlock the Iphone 3G 3.0.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by beaumk, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. beaumk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #1
    Hi,
    i was trying to get the answers for my questions by myself but it was taking me forever...
    so i decided to add a thread. (sorry for those who answered this question million times)

    okay,
    so i got this iphone 3G 3.0.1 firmwared on ebay!! yay~!!!!
    now since i have t-mobile i like to unlock it.
    *before i start the question is there any method i can waive from iphone 3G plan on AT&T(with 3G/GS not 2G)? i mean, my contract with t-mobile is over so i went to att to get iphone 3gs but the problem was the plan was way too expensive. it was easy over $85 to use iphone...i dont need 3g network for myself since i have wifi.

    im planning to move verizon if they get iphone or omnia2 is really good so i prolly use this phone for max of 1 yr and sell it back or may be just keep it.

    okay so back to question about JB and unlocking.
    1. what program should i use? which is best? i can have PC laptop but school has macs in computer lab.(quickqwn, pwnageTool, redsn0w, ultrasn0w, blackr1an)
    2.i like to keep up with newer iphone firmwares if they are available...so to do this i have use pwnageTool? that means i have to unlock and JB with pwnageTool?
    3.do i need to downgrade to 3.0 for 3.0.1??

    thank you for read my post and please answer them!
     
  2. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #2
    redsnow 0.8 should jailbreak your iPhone just fine. Google for some tutorials if you've never used it before. :)
     
  3. doboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #3
    redsn0w. read here for extensive tutorial with pics.

    http://www.hackthatphone.com/3x/r_3_0_1_3g.html

    I would suggest staying with 3.0.1 for awhile since 3.1 is little buggy and 3.1.2 can't be jailbroken yet. That site also has tutorial on updating to 3.1 if you wish. Just make sure never to update with official firmware from Apple since that would kill you ability to unlock in the future. You can also find tutorial there for unlocking with ultrasn0w.
     
  4. beaumk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #4
    so after redsn0w and ultrasn0w i can still upgrade firmware through pwnageTool??(not the official one but one that has same features with official one)
     
  5. beaumk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #5
    so the redsn0w is the best bet?
    whats blackrain? GeoHot?
     
  6. doboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #6
    Yes, but should wait maybe until 3.1.2 JB solution is released.
     
  7. beaumk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #7
    okay hmmm so whatabout the blackrain?
    dev team and geohot are like competitors?
     
  8. doboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #8
    I think those are upcoming JB solutions (GeoHot is a person developing JB solution) that may be useful for unlocking newer baseband and 3.1 on 3GS. Don't worry about them and use redsn0w. I have 2G and 3GS that was both JB'ed using redsn0w. Still haven't gone to 3.1 with either of them.
     
  9. beaumk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #9
    but then you cant use any of new features that 3.1 offers...dont you?
    such as video and mms and cut and paste, etc...
    do you know what happens to the warranty when it is jb and unlocked?/
    if they void warranty by doing jb, can i not just upgrade to official firmware and send it to apple to get refurbished iphone? would they know??
     
  10. doboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #10
    Yes, I know you don't get the features. At the same time you don't get the headache from possible issues with 3.1. Why do you think they released 3.1.2 so soon after 3.1? Look at the fixes on 3.1.2, it's mainly things caused by 3.1. It's the sacrifice you make for deciding to jailbreak.

    Warranty is void if they find evidence of jailbreak on your phone. You can restore with official firmware anytime and take it in and they won't know. Make sure you set up the phone as new or may transfer "evidence" from your backup.
     
  11. beaumk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #11
    thanks alot for your answers imgonna do unlocking soon...prolly today....2-3 hours later? haha
    one more thing i see threads saying that cydia need to have back up ECID? to restore the broadband?? can i maually type that in? if so where can i find the ECID? anything i need to back up before JB and UNLocking?? or any tips
    thank you
     
  12. doboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #12
    I don't think you need to worry about saving ECID SHSH for 3G iPhone. I'm almost certain that only applies to 3GS like mine because Apple signs firmwares for 3GS only so you can't downgrade to earlier firmware. 3G can downgrade firmware, BUT NOT THE BASEBAND. Baseband is like a firmware for the communication chip inside the iPhone and if you upgrade that by using official firmware 3.1 or ABOVE from Apple then you can't unlock it yet (or ever) so don't ever use official 3.1 firmware and above.
     
  13. beaumk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #13
    one last thing...
    once you JB'd the iphone can u still use both cydia and apple app store? or app store freezes??
     
  14. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #14
    iTunes, syncing and App Store work just the same, official or JB firmware.
     
  15. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #15
    Yes, a jailbroken works just the same as a non-jailbroken one, plus additional functionality.
     
  16. beaumk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #16
    okay now i have jb'd and unlocked
    now i have inserted tmobile sim card
    and i have little "E" next to anntena bars....
    what is this?
    is this like EDGE???
    i dont wanna pay for EDGE i only use wireless......plz help me out..
     
  17. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #17
    So why bother putting in a T-Mobile SIM if you don't want to use the network? Either way, just use Airplane Mode and turn wireless back on then.
     
  18. beaumk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #18
    oh....so the EDGE is the basic line service for the T mobile??
    i thought it was like 3G stuff..that i have to pay extra dollars...
     
  19. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #19
    Edge is basic service for all networks.
     
  20. doboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #20
    Actually GPRS is the basic service for GSM phones I think. I have 2g phone on t-mobile and it shows edge on the phone, but since I don't subscribe to their internet service I don't get any charges. T-mobile doesn't have pay as you go internet service like AT&T so they don't force you to pay internet. Don't worry about it and call t-mo to make sure you don't subscribe to internet service.
     
  21. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #22
    Yes. 3G is your 3G stuff, which the iPhone can't do on T-Mobile anyway due to different frequency implementation. Be sure to shut off 3G in settings before you unlock.
     
  22. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #23
    In the US, the iPhone will not read the T-mobile 3G band, so with T-mobile, the fastest you are gonna get is Edge.

    While T-mobile is cheaper, in the US, you cannot use their 3G speeds.

    This only affects the data side of the phone, the phone call functions work as fast as AT&T as those are the same speed.
     
  23. beaumk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #24
    okay now it has been about 40 hours i've jb'd and unlocked iphone...
    but i have problem with battery and phone funtion speed....
    battery seems like theres a big hole...it drains...it was full this morning about 6:40am now 3:00pm it's at 10% i used wifi today about an hour or so 2 hours maxium...and it kinda kinks...as i unlock the phone by typing passwords it is really slow...in most functions it reacts slow. i had 2nd gen ipod touch for a year,,,this phone is whole lot slower and battery is just killing me..
    phone is under 6 months old running on 3.0.1 firmware JB'd and unlocked...16gb about 7gig of music and apps in it.
    can u tell me what went wrong?? and what to do?
     
  24. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #25
    Battery drain occurs on many 3.0, 3.01 and 3.1 jailbreaks

    The 3G slows down once JB due to the extra apps running on it.

    You can restore to official 3.0 or 3.0.1 (NOT 3.1 or 3.1.2) firmware, set up as new phone, then re-jailbreak. Might get rid of battery issue.

    I've had to do that an it fixed the battery problem.
     

Share This Page