Which Radeon 6870?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by FreakIndeed, Jun 24, 2012.

  1. FreakIndeed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    Trying to decide between these two Radeon 6870 Graphics cards:

    SAPPHIRE AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB GDDR5 PCIE Graphics Card
    http://www.amazon.com/SAPPHIRE-Radeon-6870-GDDR5-Graphics/dp/B005C8RTTU/?ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

    OR

    XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 900M 1 GB DDR5 DUAL MINIDP HDMI DUAL DVI PCI-E Video Card
    http://www.amazon.com/XFX-Radeon-MI...F8&qid=1340580494&sr=1-2&keywords=Radeon+6870

    My system is the Early 2008 Mac Pro (3,1), 8 Core 2.8, running 10.7.4

    Does anyone have any experience with either of these cards in 10.7.4? Success or failures? The XFX is listed as a "mini" and looks to be shorter in length. I don't know if that's a good or bad thing. There is one Amazon reviewer who has the Sapphire running on his Mac Pro 3,1.

    By any chance has anyone had these cards running with a Mountain Lion build?

    I realize I won't have bootscreen, DVD player and Steam games.

    Thanks!
     
  2. inaka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    #2
    I'm kinda clueless about this stuff, but don't you need a Mac-specific card for your Mac Pro?
     
  3. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    I tried the xfx one. Was pretty loud compared to the Apple branded ones. I returned it and running the stock 5770 currently. Not sure about the other one.
     
  4. FreakIndeed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    Not always, there are a few models that Mac OSX will support straight out of the box. Without flashing the ROM though, you lose a couple of functions like seeing the boot screen.
     
  5. Buffsteria macrumors regular

    Buffsteria

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #5
  6. FreakIndeed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Thanks for your input! Are you running 10.7.4?
     
  7. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #7
    I actually own both of those exact cards! LOL

    The Sapphire is a lot quieter, I'd recommend that one.

    They both work great though. I haven't tried flashing the Sapphire, but others have had success with it. I flashed my XFX successfully (took some cajoling, but I got it).

    Also, I'd recommend buying from http://newegg.com . It may be the same price, but they ship faster and returning is generally easier.
     
  8. Buffsteria macrumors regular

    Buffsteria

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #8
    Yep!
     
  9. TheDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #9
    I'm running the Sapphire one in 10.6.8. Super quiet, absolutely no issues. Haven't tried Steam/DVD Player since I don't use them. Don't get a boot screen, but I use QuickBoot to switch into Windows when I need to.
     
  10. inaka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    #10
    Thanks for this info. I always thought you had to flash the ROM to get them to work on the Mac, or buy the Mac-card at a premium price. Good info, thanks.
     
  11. Dr. Cheesesteak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    #11
    I was thinking of going with one of these cards but keep seeing the Steam/DVD player issue come up and I'm not clear if there is a resolution to it or not.

    I don't care much about DVD Player, but Steam games don't work at all with one of these cards? Is there a fix?

    And does anyone on Amazon sell the correct power cable? I've seen them on eBay but I have Amazon Prime so I just try to use it whenever possible since I don't have to wait or pay for shipping.
     
  12. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #12
    Hello,

    I got Gigabyte's triple fan 6870 a couple of weeks ago: flawless as is (no DVD or Steam), dead silent and it just works.

    Loa
     
  13. FreakIndeed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #14
    Someone can correct me if I'm wrong but I believe this is the correct power cable... and you need two of them.

    http://www.amazon.com/PCIe-Power-Ca...rds=video+card+power+cable&ie=UTF8&ref=sr_1_3

    At least that is the power cable I will be purchasing two of next week (I'm an Amazon Prime member as well). So I can report back then.
     
  14. Neodym macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #15
    ATY_Init.kext
     

Share This Page