Which RAM for 2011 iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Uhu, May 3, 2011.

  1. Uhu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #1
    Hi, I just bought my i7 27" iMac and now I need RAM.
    Which one do I need?

    SO-DIMM 204pin DDR3 1333 ?
    What do I have to look for?

    Will this be the right one:

    Corsair ValueSelect SO-DIMM Kit 8GB PC3-10667S CL9 (DDR3-1333)
    ?
     
  2. Orme macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #2
  3. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    I buy from OWC. 16GB for $200. :D .. this is for the 2010 iMac but I don't see why it shouldn't work with the 2011 model.
     
  4. steadysignal macrumors 6502a

    steadysignal

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #5
    nod here for crucial... but corsair is one of the best out there. been using corsair in gaming rigs forever without issue.
     
  5. ozmo1911 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #6
    I also buy from newegg for components usually.

    Thanks for the link, because I initially went to the "Mac" section of their memory browser, under which there were only 3 selections listed under their 204-pin 10600 sticks.

    If you go through the "Laptop Memory" section, there's 31 different sticks to choose from.

    I ended up picking the one you linked, as it has the most reviews, best reviews, and cheapest. What could be better?

    And sorry for digging up a slightly old thread.
     
  6. pixelshaders macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #7
  7. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #8
    Be careful with that particular model. It seems to give my iMac random freezes. All memory tests are negative though. I am still unsure if its really because of the RAM, but the probability is there.

    I'd suggest you go with Crucial, because they offer money-back on memory which you choose using their memory configurator tool.
     
  8. sauer228 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #9
    I put 2 sticks of Samsung from Amazon in mine and it loves it.

    Samsung 4GB
     
  9. Trouser Cough macrumors member

    Trouser Cough

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Location:
    Crowded Busses, Cramped Elevators, Taco Bell
    #10
    This set is onsale at newegg.....$40 for 8gig. Just upgraded my iMac from 4gb to 16 for less than $90!!!
     
  10. zMacintoshz macrumors regular

    zMacintoshz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    NY, FL
    #11
  11. SixeL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    so this ram works for iMac even it's labelled as laptop memory?

    are there any performance differences compared to crucial ram for instance?
     
  12. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #13
    iMac requires laptop memory. The performance characteristics of all cheaper brands are virtually identical, you should only really care about the brand if you plan to overclock.
     
  13. SixeL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #14
    excuse my ignorance, but what does overclock mean?
    I probably will not since I don't even know what that means. :eek:

    I guess $100 for 16GB ram from G-Skill is pretty good right?
     
  14. Carl G35c macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #15
  15. silversx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #16
    is it ok to leave the 2 x 2gb that came with the system and just install 2 x 4gb in the 2 extra slots for a total of 12gb??
     
  16. Not So New Guy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #17
  17. MR.Raul macrumors regular

    MR.Raul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    Sweden
    #18
  18. AbeFroman77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #19
    Perfectly fine.
     
  19. silversx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #20
    is there a problem with the system not running in dual channel mode ?
     
  20. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #21
    It will be running in dual channel mode. Two sticks of stock RAM = dual channel, two sticks of your RAM = dual channel. The RAM slots are pairwise matched.
     
  21. Dnix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
  22. Not So New Guy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #23
    It just gets better...

    Not sure why but the invoice newegg just emailed me was for 32.00. Now that is what I call a CRAZY good deal! :)
     
  23. macmulisha macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    florida
    #24
    It tells me SOLD OUT!!! Ahhhhhhhhh!
     
  24. JSmoove05 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #25
    ahhhh wtf i just paid 55 dollars other day for this i could have loved to get it for 30+ tax less nooooo
     

Share This Page