Which ram for iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by EnterTheSwamp, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. EnterTheSwamp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #1
    Can someone please post a link to ram that will run on the iMac. I am looking on new egg and they seem to have so many different types.
    I understand that it will be ddr3 so-dimm, but what speed? they have 1333(pc3 10600, pc3 10660, pc3 10666) ??

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. EnterTheSwamp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for the quick response. It seems that all the ram on that page is 10600. Doss that mean that 10660 or 10666 will not run or is not recommended?
     
  3. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #4

    The most simple thing to do is look in your manual for the correct specifications and follow that. If you are in North America then I'd recommend purchasing from OWC. Their link is:

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/apple/memory/

    Regards,

    Roger
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    PC3-10600 = 1333MHz
    PC3-8500 = 1066MHz

    Those 10660 and 10666 are basically the same AFAIK, just a typo in the name but get PC3-10600 if you have a new iMac as Macs are picky with RAM. OWC is great place to buy from
     
  5. EnterTheSwamp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #6
    Thanks hammer. Can I call you Hammer for short? It doesn't have the same viscousness to it, but Hammer is still a cool name. :D
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Sure. Some people call me HH and in MR IRC, everyone calls me just Hell, it's not that big deal for me ;)
     
  7. rworne macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    #8
    Thanks for pointing out the link. My iMac is getting a present in a few days :D
     
  8. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

    iJohnHenry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    On tenterhooks
    #9
    Your location is not specified, but I bumped HAL with RAM from CanadaRAM.

    Sees all, knows even more. ;)
     
  9. spcopsmac21 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #10
  10. krause734 macrumors 6502

    krause734

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #11
    Crucial scan

    Try using crucials website. It will tell you the max RAM you can put in by scanning your imac. I just upgraded the memory and hard drive on my macbook pro.
     

Share This Page