Which RAM in the current iMac 27?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by maxap, Oct 4, 2010.

  1. maxap macrumors 6502

    maxap

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys,


    I am planning to buy a new iMac 27 inch and to upgrade RAM myself.
    Do you know which type/brand of RAM Apple uses in their machines?
    Does anybody know whether this Corsair CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9 (4Gb... if I buy two of them) will work?
    Should I maybe buy the brand Apple uses?

    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
  3. maxap thread starter macrumors 6502

    maxap

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
  4. printershopper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    #4
    The current models all come with 4GB RAM, which is the maximum Final Cut Express can use at present.

    For overall system performance, you might consider adding RAM (but don't be surprised if you only get a performance boost with Aperture or CS5). Regarding the video processor, the ATI 4670/256MB processor will be fine for video editing.
     
  5. fuchsi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #5
    i bought these
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer Technology/1333DDR3S08S/
    they work perfect so far and the price is nice...
    12gb sounds alot but its better when your editing and rendering alot (cs5,Fcp)

    watch out for customs tough when u are ordering out of the US.
    I had to pay 35 euros custom expenses!!

    anyways it was worth the cost
     
  6. tears2040 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #6
    Truly bothers me when I see this comment. First of all while many people believe Final Cut can only use 4gbs of ram your system will ALWAYS benefit from more ram.

    Try using Final Cut, surfing the web, burning a dvd, loading itunes, uploading, downloading and you will see that 4gbs die an instant death. Truth is I am a Final Cut Pro user and since installing 8gbs of ram in my computer EVERYTHING just works better.

    So please stop spreading false information making it seem like you do not need more than 4gbs of ram.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Plus if you're working with multiple Final Cut apps at the same time, it will definitely help as that ~3GB is the limit per app.
     
  8. maxap thread starter macrumors 6502

    maxap

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #8
    Nice. But am I right that Apple uses Samsung RAM in their iMac's?
    Maybe it's better to get that Samsung memory as well to avoid issues in the future. However, for many years I trust Corsair and Corsair only...
     
  9. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #9
    Samsung is one of the vendors they use. Apple like all computer manufacturers buy from multiple vendors so the end user doesn't know until they look inside. However as long as the RAM is the same specification it really shouldn't matter.
     
  10. maxap thread starter macrumors 6502

    maxap

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #10
    Thank you! I had the same thoughts... Then I shouldn't worry, I guess...
     

Share This Page