Which RAM is the Best for MACBOOK PRO

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by al7zn22, Oct 8, 2007.

  1. al7zn22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #1
    I want to buy a MacBook PRO 15".
    and It's comes with the regular RAM. 2 GB.
    and I want to upgraded to 4.

    and I have to add 630$ for this upgrade to be done with the apple store.
    do u think if I can buy the RAM from the website will be better.?
    and I have a website that sell RAM or MacBook Pro.
    and there is many companies which company is the best??

    OWC 2 GB for 97.5$
    MICRON 2 GB for 112 $
    SAMSUNG 2 GB for 148 $
    TechWorks 2 GB for 99$

    Please let me know :)

    and this is the website:
    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/MacBook/Pro/Core2/
     
  2. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #3
    I use crucial too never had any problems with it
     
  3. amac4me macrumors 65816

    amac4me

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    #4
    I've always used Crucial memory in my Macs ... never had a problem.
     
  4. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
  5. MacGiver macrumors 6502a

    MacGiver

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    France
    #6
    Corsair looks like a good website but what brand to choose then, there are so many...
    When using the configurator they sell 2GB for 79$ when on Apple.com they sell it 500$ !!!
    Where is the trick here why the hell this difference? is the 79$ crap or Apple taking us for stupid jerks...

    Finally whatever i will get is that easy to install myself or do i need assistance from a Genius?
    Thanks for your answers,
    X
     
  6. bobcan macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #7
    Just got 4GB...

    Just got 4GB for my 2.4 SR from OWC... seems to be fine and cost me $210.00 USD (I'm in Canada) and about $23.00 to deliver... IT's now down to $187.50... :rolleyes:
     
  7. MacHipster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago/London/Sydney
    #8
    No, yes, and no.
     
  8. MacGiver macrumors 6502a

    MacGiver

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    France
    #9
    Sorry i forgot the attachement...So WTF here? Sorry for being rude...but i am French...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. MacGiver macrumors 6502a

    MacGiver

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    France
    #10
    Not sure about the last NO...can i install myself?
     
  10. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #11
    Sure thing. Pull the battery, and then remove the three screws holding down the RAM door. Remove the old, put in the new.
     
  11. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #12
    Not to be rude, but I'd say if you can't something is wrong with you.

    Seriously, it's extremely easy. Took me less than 5 minutes.
     
  12. hexagon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #13
    Kingston is another brand to consider. No probs with it installed in my Macbook.
     
  13. majordude macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #14
    Mine came from Apple with Samsung so I bought more of the same when I upgraded.
     
  14. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #15
    you're comparing one 2Gb stick with a 2Gb Kit (two 1Gb sticks).

    the MBPs support two slots, so you're best to go for a 1x2Gb (total 2Gb) or a 2x2Gb (total 4Gb).
     
  15. hush macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    #16
    I have a question,

    I just realized that the basic ram set included in SR MBP is 1 gb x 2 modules... that sucks! so if you want to upgrade to 4 gb, you have to purchase 2 gb x 2 modules and put the original ram right in the bin??

    I think that Apple shouldn't be so interested on cleaning our pockets with this kind of strategies (just tending to avoid people acquiring extra ram outside Applestores)

    Cheers,
     
  16. jamesarm97 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #17
    Ok, here is a question I have. I have a C2D Macbook pro 2.33ghz with 2gig memory. I know I can only go to 3gigs but don't know if I need to buy two 2gig sticks and waste the 1gig or one 2gig stick added to one of my 1gigs. I heard they should be paired so they will run in dual channel mode, but if it only sees a full 2gig on one stick and 1gig on the other does it matter if they are not both 2gig? Or is it going to use exactly 1.5gig from the first stick and 1.5gig from the second for a total of 3gig? I don't know if I am making any sense or not.

    - James
     
  17. cogsinister macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericton NB Canada
    #18
    I allways use Kingston.....got 2x 1 gig sticks on the way from England if the postal strike don't spoil it for me that is.....
     
  18. DarkHeraldMage macrumors 6502a

    DarkHeraldMage

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #19
    I'm planning on ordering my 17" MBP as soon as Leopard becomes available, but shortly before that I plan on ordering a 4 GB set of OWC RAM from here. I know people in this forum tend to swear by Crucial, but I've only seen a few good comments on OWC. Anyone think this is a good idea to proceed with? My plan is to completely replace the 2 GB standard RAM with this before I even turn on my MBP for the first time. I'm all about the speed... :D
     
  19. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #20
    Got OCZ 4Gb 5400 kit from Frys for 149$
    Run memtest Ok, happy so far.

    As for Apple's memory/upgrade screw it, it's a ripoff, as well as bunch of Mac sites selling "Apple compatible" stuff for clueless dummies.
     
  20. iTouch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #21
    I think people tend to forget that most companies don't make the RAM chips. I would focus more on the warranty/customer service. And I also bought the OCZ 4GB kit but haven't installed it yet.
     
  21. jnash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #22
    Just ordered that thanks :)
     

Share This Page