Which RAM manufacturer to get ?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by fireworkz, Aug 24, 2007.

  1. fireworkz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    #1
    Hi.
    Im in the process to get a 2007 24" iMac with 2.8GH and 1GB Ram - I read that getting the 4GB RAM from an external source is beneficial saving one $$$$$.
    I checked many sites and wonder which manufacturer to choose - are there any differences as the specs look the same:

    1. Crucial -> [​IMG]

    2. DMS - > [​IMG]

    3. OWC -> [​IMG]

    4. Techworks -> [​IMG]

    5. Samsung -> [​IMG]


    I guess there are more ..anyhow so many suppliers -- > I was in touch with OWC they have the OWC brand and the Techworks ---> I was in touch with CanadaRam and their generic brand is by DMS and they have Kingston Brand as well... ----> I live in Canada ... dont mind getting stuff from here or from US as long as its good quality and the people are good.. help unconfuse me pls.. Thks..
     
  2. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #2
    I would recommend checking our RAM Guide and specifically the Buying Guide to answer any of your RAM-related questions.

    In general though, I would recommend DMS, OWC and CanadaRAM. Because you live in Canada, I would recommend CanadaRAM first and foremost - I have purchased RAM there before and have referred a couple friends there as well. They basically meet all the qualificiations you should be concerned about in terms of 100% Mac compatibility and warranty/return policy.
     
  3. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #3
    I personally use Crucial of Kingston as far as brand names go. I have not had any problems using these brands inside any of my Macs.

    I also buy from Canada Computers, or Tiger Direct.
     
  4. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
  5. bembol macrumors 65816

    bembol

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #5
    I only go with Kingston RAM, upgraded my 2.4GHz 24" iMac. I picked up my 2GB @ Canada Computers for $160 taxes-in.
     
  6. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #6
    I would go with DMS, or CanadaRAM since he has helped me in the past. OWC at the time I bought my RAM had no coverage once mailed, not sure about overnight delivery but (read the fine print) if it gets damaged or lost it's your money. I'm not sure if this has changed with the mailing services from them but that was one reason I went with DMS, also the price was better ;)
    I never had any issues with any RAM from DMS so I'll continue to purchase from them :D Since your in Canada I'd go with CanadaRAM…
     
  7. Hopstretch macrumors regular

    Hopstretch

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #7
    I have the same setup that you do and ordered a 4GB upgrade from OWC. It was delivered on time and the RAM checks out 100%. Although I ordered and paid for their own-brand RAM, I actually received the TechWorks DIMMS, which go for $30 more. Happy with the experience.

    PS: It flies now! :D
     
  8. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #8
    OWC has great product.

    Sometimes crucial on newegg is just as cheap though.
     
  9. nissan.gtp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    just ordered a 2GB OWC.... which will be here before my computer no doubt :rolleyes:
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    It's all made by the same 4-6 chip companies. The resellers are just different.
     
  11. GNice macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #11
    Put 2GB DIMM in my new iMac from OWC...excellent product.
     
  12. EdT macrumors 6502

    EdT

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    #12
    I have ordered the 2.4 Ghz Imac, it's supposed to be here by Tuesday. I have several friends who have Macs and they all recommended OWC. I ordered 4 Gig Friday on their recommendation. Anyone need an unused 1 gig memory card?:D
     
  13. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #13
    That's true, as far as it goes. There are a handful of chip foundries, which make the actual memory chips on the modules: Samsung, Hynix, Nanya, Micron, Qimonda (formerly Infineon), Fujitsu, NEC Electronics (Elpida), Renesas (Hitachi & Mitsubishi) Toshiba, PowerChip, ProMOS and a few others.

    Some of these companies also assemble the chips onto Printed Circuit boards to make a finished module, which would be referred as, for example, "Samsung Original".

    But many memory modules are made with these chips on third-party PC boards (these are referred to as "on Third", so for example an OWC own-brand module might be a Micron-on-3rd module). The design of the PC board, and the programming of module with the correct Serial Presence Detect (SPD) settings are both critical to the module performing properly. There are literally hundreds of module assembly companies, from small to large. So just because it has a Samsung or Micron chipset on it, doesn't guarantee the compatibility or quality of the finished module.

    The resellers can take either original or on-3rd modules and rebrand them, so a particular retail branded module may be Samsung original, Elpida-on-3rd, or many other configurations. The key is that a reputable seller will select quality parts, and test them for reliability and compatibility before offering them for sale.
     
  14. iStrat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #14
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    Once again, I've used Patriot RAM in my iMac Core Duo just fine for over a year now. I got it at a great price back then.
     
  16. iStrat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #16
  17. CajunCARTFan macrumors member

    CajunCARTFan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #17
    I have Patriot RAM in my MBP and it works great. The RAM you linked will not work because it is 240 pin not 200 pin SO-DIMM RAM.
     
  18. eofor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    #18
    Geil RAM OK

    I just put 2 x 2 GB of Geil RAM into my 2.4 GHz 20" aluminum iMac and it works perfectly in Mac OS X and Vista. Here's the link:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820144066

    1. Vista Super Pi 1.5 1M places reduced from 22.5 secs to 22 secs and the Vista memory score went up from 4.5 to 4.8 ... compared to the installed Apple 1 GB. So I'd say that a matched pair is a waste of money unless you need the RAM.
    2. It installed easily enough first time and I did not have to remove the head spreaders although they do seem to slide off pretty easily if you really want to take them off.
    3. Price with rebate seems good ... I expect to reuse the Apple 1 GB on another machine so I don't particularly regret buying 2 x 2GB rather than 1 x 2 GB to add to the installed 1 GB. It's not obvious that I need 4 GB ... I dual boot with Vista 32-bit and that only picks up 3 GB anyway.
    4. I did think about getting DDR2-800 rather than DDR2-667, but I read somewhere that the Santa Rosa chipset will only run the memory at 667 even though the bus is 800 ... I may be wrong, but 2 x 2 GB seemed an extravagance already.
    5. Super Pi scores are as fast as my desktop HP at work with a desktop, not mobile, 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo and 4 GB DDR2-800 RAM running at 667 (975X chipset).
    6. This machine almost always runs Mac OS X ... it's just that I can do speed tests and comparisons using Vista and there's the odd program I need that only has a Windows version.
     
  19. bonafide macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    #19
    Same situation as me..

    OWC worked fine for me.
     
  20. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #20
    The thing is, if you run a test that is primarily CPU bound, then the performance of the RAM or the quantity of RAM may not make any difference.

    The general consensus is that Dual channel makes about 6% - 8% difference in overall performance, and I have seen reports of up to 15% in specific tests that stress "VRAM" in integrated video machines (where you get the double whammy of RAM performance and Video RAM performance). Your result 4.5 - 4.8 is bang on for 6%-8%

    Yes: 800 MHz has no benefit in any current intel Mac (as has been posted here a dozen or so times ;))
     

Share This Page