Which RAM would you suggest?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Eric..., Mar 25, 2012.

  1. Eric..., Mar 25, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012

    Eric... macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    #1
    I currently have 8GB of Kingston RAM (2x4GB, 1600MHz, CAS 9). I am thinking of upgrading to 16GB at 1600MHz.

    The two brands I am debating between are:

    CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (2 x 8G) 10-10-10-26
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233265

    Komputerbay 16GB (2x 8GB) 9-9-9-25 with Black Heatspreaders
    http://www.amazon.com/Komputerbay-P...eaders/dp/B006K4C0O4/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

    The CORSAIR RAM is obviously a more known brand, but does anyone know the quality of Komputerbay? The Komputerbay has a lower CAS and has heat spreaders. Are these worth the risk of not knowing about the RAM's quality. Basically, I am just wondering if anyone has used either of these in their Mac and how reliable it was. Also, please don't post any comments about how I don't need 16GB of RAM. I will be using VMs in the future and other things and it is worth it to me. Thanks in advance for the input.
     
  2. shardey macrumors 6502a

    shardey

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #2
    I would try Komputerbay, just because of the lower timings. Since it is from Amazon, you have a good return policy under your hands. I doubt you would honestly even see a difference in the CAS though. I run 8gb of the 1866 hyper X and would love to see the 16gb kit come out. Hell, even the 8gb 2133 kit that they demonstrated would be awesome.
     
  3. T1ckT0ck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    #3
    Off topic, does it pass memory tests? A lot of users stated that they had kernel panics using PC15000.

    On topic, I would stay away from KomputerBay OP, way too many people having issues with their modules.
     
  4. diamond3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #4
    I'd go with the Komputerbay. It seems like a lot of people have had good results with it in the forum. I'm currently in the process of returning my corsair 2x4GB thats tested specifically for mac because it has completly failed after just 4 months.
     
  5. shardey macrumors 6502a

    shardey

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #5
    I haven't ran a test, but I have been using it since August 2011, so it's probably some people get a bad batch, or they have an incompatible CPU.
     
  6. T1ckT0ck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    #6
    I have an i7, I'm updating my RAM as I still have the stock 4GB 1333 but read nightmares of kernel panics with 1867. I might just go with 1600 as no one seems to have a good memtest on 1867. :(
     
  7. shardey macrumors 6502a

    shardey

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #7
    What i7? I have the 2.3 2820qm and use to see a kernel panic, only when I had parallels installed. A few months passed and I reinstalled parallels, to find out they updated it and have never had one problem since.
     
  8. T1ckT0ck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    #8
    The 2.4 Quad Core, 2760 I think it is. Hmmmm, tempting. I was going to order the RAM tonight so I could have it Tuesday or Wednesday.
     
  9. shardey macrumors 6502a

    shardey

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #9
    I recommend it, even though I purchased it for $130 and its a lot cheaper now. I use GFX card status and I don't have to run dedicated as much since the increased speeds have helped the hd 3000. I accidentally launched starcraft II and didn't even realize I was playing on the IGPU!!
     
  10. T1ckT0ck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    #10
    Well looks like I'll be upgrading my RAM this week. Funny I've done that as well but with only 4GB I noticed as my settings are on Ultra. Awesome, shardey, thanks for your help! Sorry that I sidetracked the thread...
     
  11. shardey macrumors 6502a

    shardey

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #11
    No problem, a lot of people go against what I am saying but I have had experience with the ram for an extent period of time. As mentioned before, I haven't ran any hardware test on the ram, so a failure could be there for my machine, but that could just be the testing method. If you do have problems, I suggest sending them back for a new set. Cheers!
     
  12. DrNick8404 macrumors member

    DrNick8404

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #12
    CORSAIR 16gb. I use it on my 13 MBP late 2011 and its AWESOME
     

Share This Page