Which ram?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by matbook101, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. matbook101 macrumors 6502

    matbook101

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Location:
    In the secret land of Cupertino.
    #1
    I just ordered my base model iMac 27" and I want to upgrade the ram to 12gb. Which ram should I use? Looking for 2x4GB under $50. Links would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. PaulCostello macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    #2
  3. Bananis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    #3
    Hello guys.. A lots of envy :) I'm just planing..

    How many is empty slots to ram upgrade in 27 inch model?
     
  4. pralexis macrumors newbie

    pralexis

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Location:
    Serbia, Nis
    #4
    iMac have 4 slots for RAM. You have 2 used and 2 is free.
     
  5. mario24601 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #5
    I got OEM type from OWC, now have 16GB in my 27", seems fast but Im sure the non-sammy RAM is also good, for few extra $ went with OEM :)
     
  6. moonbeep macrumors member

    moonbeep

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Location:
    Belfast,Northern Ireland
    #6
    I ordered 2x4gb of crucial and have had no problems so far,you can go too there site and there is a scanner which will tell you what ram is compatible etc...
     
  7. PaulKemp, Mar 26, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2012

    PaulKemp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #7
    I got the absolute cheapest from amazon, no serial number on the sticks or nothing. Komputerbay 2x8 gb. Over the top I know, but now I'm settled for a lifetime of ram it seems. Although some people report stability issues, mine is stable as hell. 5/5 stars. http://www.amazon.com/Komputerbay-P...in-9-9-9-25/dp/B00698WP50/ref=pd_rhf_cr_p_t_1

    They are double your price though. Sorry.

    edit: i've ran the memory86 test also a couple of times. No errors. Also, no kernel panic.
     
  8. Trigeeks macrumors member

    Trigeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #8
    I looked at that Komputerbay and the CL or timing is 9-9-9-25 not 24. Will that make a difference? Thanks
     
  9. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #9
    I'd go with Crucial too...upgraded mine to 16GB a while back, no fuss, no dramas.
     

Share This Page