Which realtek HD does the MacBook Pro have? 260-262-268..etc ????

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Theturk, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. Theturk macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai
    #1
    I want to know because I'm having problems with a game (GTA San Andreas) on windows XP and I read online about alot of people having game sound issues, with specific games though not all. So I want to update to the latest drivers a mate of mine told me it works.

    So which one is it ?
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  3. Theturk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai
    #3
    So... 200,000 registered members and no one knows which card it is? what the hell..
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    If I had to guess the ALC888S as that's the only model that supports dual optical digital in/out.
     
  5. andrewdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #5
    Well, no. I sure don't know. Sorry!

    There, now you're down to 199,999.
     
  6. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #6
    I have no idea what my the exact sound card is in my mbp.. only reason to finding out is if I'm trying to run a hackint0sh and trying to kext edit it myself....
     
  7. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #7
    There might be 200,000 registered users BUT not everyone buys a Mac to play games via Windows. I suspect the vast majority prefer to keep their system running OSX, where they're using their systems for something more productive.
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Count me in that majority! Can't make money by playing games!
     
  9. Theturk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai
    #9
    this is a sad day for this forum :(:(:(


    waits for mac gurus to enter :apple::apple::apple::apple::apple:
     
  10. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #10
    As far as I can determine from the vendor/device ID tags (ven 10ec, dev 0885), the chipset is the ALC885 from Realtek.

    I'm not 100% certain on that, however I know where drivers are that you can use (they do work).
    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/
    From the left menu, highlight Computer Peripheral ICs -> PC Audio Codecs -> High Definition Audio Codecs -> Software.

    I've just installed them because I play Warcraft and had a blue screen in boot camp with a cause from the HD Realtek Audio drivers.

    Hopefully they can help you too.
     
  11. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #11
    Also, the chipset is named in the Realtek audio control panel.

    Start -> Control Panels -> Realtek HD Sound Effect Manager

    Click the (i) for information and it will named it. Mine has ALC885.
     
  12. Theturk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai
    #12
    Yep you're right I have the same one as yours. After updating everything, couple of restarts GTA is now working fully with sound.

    Thanks :)
     

Share This Page