Which rMPB for designers and photographers?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mskill, Oct 29, 2013.

1. mskill, Oct 29, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2013

mskill macrumors newbie

Hey everyone,

Thanks for taking the time to look. After reading many threads and posts regarding the new rMPB, I feel the base 15" should be sufficient for me. However, I'm truly clueless when it comes to specs and what's going on behind the scenes and I could use some final opinions or suggestions based upon my needs.

I'm a graphic designer and photographer who will be designing for print and web, using programs such as InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, Dreamweaver and Lightroom. While I don't game, I occasionally use iMovie to edit tutorial videos for YouTube, however, this workload may increase.

I'm currently using a 2010 27" iMac 2.93GHz/8GB/1TB and would like a rMPB that is a improvement from current setup as it will become my main machine.

Will I benefit much with a upgrade to the processor or RAM on the base model? Any other opinions or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks again!

2. mskill thread starter macrumors newbie

3. AlecMyrddyn macrumors 6502

Depending on the size of images you work on, and how many of those Apps you have open at once, my guess is you'll probably benefit most from upgrading the RAM to 16 GB.

If you do a lot of CPU intensive transformations, then the CPU upgrade could help as well, but the 15" is a quad core with pretty good performance even for the 2.0 GHz.

Keep in mind that on the rMBP, you cannot upgrade the RAM after you purchase the computer. If you buy the 8GB now and it turns out to be inadequate in 2 years, your only solution is to replace the computer. How long do you want this computer to be your primary for?

What does Activity Monitor show for CPU & System Memory usage on your iMac when you are using it for your most intensive workloads? That might help us judge if 16 GB is worth it for you or not.