Which router to get

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ghall, May 5, 2007.

  1. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    Okay, I'm looking for a decent router that's easy to configure with a Mac. I was thinking the AirPort Express, but is there any other routers out there that can be easily configures with a Mac?
     
  2. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #2
    Depends what you want.

    The AirPort Express is a handy way to network Macs (wirelessly) and share a printer (via USB on the AE).

    Personally, I like Linksys WRT54G wireless routers.

    Netgear makes some good ones as well.

    I also like my AE.
     
  3. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #3
    Oh snap! I forgot about the AEs ability to share printers! That would be really useful! Is that worth the extra cost of the AE alone?
     
  4. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #4
    I like AE because you can use it to make an instant network that works well with Windows and Macs to communicate with each other.

    As for the AE, I personally like the Stereo feature with iTunes. It works very well and is easy to use.

    As for the AE sharing printers, I moved over to a Brother networkable printer and so as long as it is on the network via Ethernet, any computer (Mac, Windows) can print along with my Newton. I like that solution best. I don't need an AE for that. Any router will work which is nice.
     
  5. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
  6. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #6
    Just got back from CompUSA, with Airport Express in hand. It was easy to set up, and everything. So far it's working great.
     
  7. wildthing1994 macrumors member

    wildthing1994

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    #7
    I have a question. What is the diff. between the Airport Express station and the airport extreme station? Both are wireless routers, right? Or does the Express need the Extreme to function as a router?
     
  8. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #8
    Yes, both are wireless routers.
     
  9. johnee macrumors 6502a

    johnee

    #9
    I think wildthing1994 is looking for something which compares/contrasts the two.
     
  10. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #10
    Well, the Airport Express has Airtunes(so you can play your itunes through your stereo) and the Extreme has a faster wireless singnal, other than that, I really don't know.
     
  11. Vidd macrumors 6502a

    Vidd

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #11
    Another recommendation for the Airport Express. :)
    If I was going to upgrade to a draft n network, I'd wait for a new version of it.

    The little light on top is actually quite useful!
     
  12. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #12
    The express can only have ten clients connected at a time when it is acting as a router, while I believe the extreme can accommodate up to 50 clients at once.
     
  13. wildthing1994 macrumors member

    wildthing1994

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    #13
    Ok thanks, so from what I now understand is the Extreme is just the Express on steroids. Kinda like the Mbp is to the Mb
     
  14. Schroedinger macrumors regular

    Schroedinger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #14
    There's more of a difference than that. The express is a light version of a router whereas the extreme has some useful features, like a wired lan port. If all you need is wireless, then express will work fine. I've got a network where I have an airport extreme, and the wired lan is running through a switch so I can hardwire my desktops and xbox360. I've also got the wireless running for laptops or any random wireless device that I want to connect.
     

Share This Page