Which router??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by stefc93, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. stefc93 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #1
    When we signed up for high speed internet, Verizon (our ISP) provided us with a modem, albeit crappy. It will often lose/turn off the wireless feature so my iMac which is connected to it wirelessly via AirPort will have no internet connection; same goes for my BlackBerry. The speed is also slow. I need to get a new router that I can hook up to my Verizon modem, preferably an "N" router. Here are some of the possible choices:

    1) D-Link Xtreme N Dual Band Gigabit router: http://d-link.com/products/?pid=681
    2) D-Link Xtreme N Gigabit router: http://d-link.com/products/?pid=530
    3) Linksys Simultaneous Dual-N Wireless router: http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/products/WRT610N
    4) Belkin N+ Wireless router: http://www.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=459640#

    I like these routers since they "N" technology and a USB port since I have a USB printer and would like to print wirelessly.

    Any other suggestions?
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    If the modem is the problem, getting a new router won't be any help...
     
  3. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Can your Blackberry join an 'n' network? Im just not sure if they can?:confused:
     
  4. stefc93 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #4
    Oh, sorry. Let me clarify: when I had my previous computer (Compaq) plugged into the modem via an ethernet cable, there were no drops in communication/internet. However, my BlackBerry, Xbox 360, and PS3 all lose connection with it. I think there is something wrong with the wireless connection - possibly the antenna?
     
  5. stefc93 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #5
    No, unfortunately, it can't. Only a/b/g networks.
     
  6. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #6
    Airport Extreme Base Station is well worth the extra money. I have had mine for 3 years now with the numbers of issues/reboots coutable on one hand.
     
  7. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #7
    Since the modem has an ethernet port you should be ok with a new wireless router, just make sure you get the Apple Base station or one from a company that updates regularly (aka, not netgear.)
     
  8. knewsom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #8
    I have an airport extreme, and I REALLY like it. My Macbook can function on N, while the old Dell laptop and the iPhones can work on G. Have a HD plugged into it via USB, works like a charm. Apparently one can even use a USB hub for multiple devices, though I have not tried this. The gigabit ethernet connection is VERY fast. It's also pretty, silent, and small. Range is excellent.

    If you don't want to shell out top dollar for one, look for a used one. Even the previous generation is nice.
     
  9. stefc93 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #9
    And one more thing: the only way I can get the wireless connection on my modem up and running again is to turn off the modem via the power switch on the back of it and then turn it on again. Doesn't drop the signal for a few days, but when it does, it's annoying.
     
  10. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #10
    Another selling point:

    The new AEBS feature dual band fuctionality meaning you can have a 5GHz 'n' signal purely for your iMac while the BBs and game systems can connect on a seperate 'g' network (or they can also connect to the 'n' if possible...dunno about the game systems. My Wii only connects via 'g' or lower. ) Having a seperate network will keep the 'n' network from slowing down (a bit, but noticeable) to accomodate the 'g' connections.

    With the AEBS I doubt you will have to reboot either it or the modem again for a LONG while...if at all.
     
  11. MMM.PWR macrumors 6502

    MMM.PWR

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #11
    Is it the wireless router built into the modem or the modem itself having issues? I have an ATT 2wire modem/router. It works fine with my xbox, ps3, iphone, rest of the house. However, it gave Safari issues on my mbp ALL the time. It would say "you're not connected to the internet." So I disabled the routing abilities of the modem (no more "internet" light, only "dsl" lights up) and bought an Airport Extreme. All issues were solved after that and now I have 2 networks, my own and a guest (for the rest of the house).
     
  12. i7QuadCoreMania macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #12
    I have the DIR 685 and it works great, a free nas drive, ftp server, bt server, itunes server, and AV server. B G N + photoframe and 1gig ports, winner in my book.:D

    but you do have to supply your own 2.5" hard disk.
     
  13. student_trap macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #13
    +1, accept that I have not had a SINGLE problem, and it has been running 24/7 for years
     
  14. Stonefly macrumors regular

    Stonefly

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    #14
    Buy an airport extreme base station, I haven't heard of anyone who hasn't liked it yet. For gods sakes, stay away from d-link. I bought a DGL-4500 router 4 months ago and ended up throwing it in the garbage. Support is absolutely horrible. Checkout their forums and the many horror stories in there. Just make sure you do your research before buying. Cheers. :)

    Code:
    http://forums.dlink.com/index.php
     
  15. nyzwerewolf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #15
    I personally prefer Dlink DIR-655 router. I have had it for a year now. Never had ANY issues. The current uptime of my router is 257 days and 10hrs. I have 8 computers at home. 3 Blackberries. 2 ipods. I never had any issues with this router. It goes for 99.99 or 119.99. I don't suggest you go with the Linksys N router - as it have a lot of issues. I was always a Linksys guy. When I wanted to switch to N, i bought their N router, and it started acting up the same day. I returned it and got the DIR-655. Runs great for me!
     
  16. ladysman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #16
    Without a doubt the Asus RT-N16 flashed with tomato firmware. However they are hard to come by. Even in beta, the firmware is extremely stable.
    2 USB's
    Wireless N
    Gigabit Ethernet
    Best of all 128mb of RAM and 32mb's of Flash ram.

    Even better, is I bought both of mine for $80 shipped and they are still around that price.

    For more info on the firmware see here.
    http://www.linksysinfo.org/forums/showthread.php?t=63587

    I have 5 PC's (linux and windows) wired, 3 wireless, 2 appleTV, 2 iphones, and finally 1 ooma phone system and very soon a 27" imac.

    My whole house is ethernet so there is 2 8 port switches (Dlink 2208) and a 5 port desktop switch (Dlink 2205) also connected via Comcast 25mb down/ 10mb up connection.

    Seriously can't recommend it enough. Never had any disconnects on the apple TV's. I've had it running since Jan 9th and it's never been rebooted except when our cable when out for a snow storm.

    Is it one of those combo router/modems that you have? If so, they are complete garbage.
     
  17. aneftp macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #17
    Which Verizon service do you have? DSL? or FIOS? With FIOS, they should have given you some type of actiontech router/modem combo device that works great.
     

Share This Page