Which should I buy - mid 2015 Macbook Pro 15' with M370X or Refurbished mid-2014 with 750M?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by yguan, Jun 15, 2015.

1. yguan macrumors newbie

yguan

Hi : )

I'm an UI/UX designer and an interactive art programmer. I'm thinking about getting a mbp for a long time and finally I saved enough for one. I actually got a mid-2014 one with 2.8GHz and GeForce GT 750M on April, but I returned it after 2 weeks coz I heard there probably gonna be a refreshment on June.

Then now here comes the refreshed mid-2015 15' with AMD r9 M370X... I've read through most of the reviews and specs test results I can find online but still...don't know which one I should go with.

Here are my options:
    new mid 2015 MBPr configured to 2.8GHz and 512GB drive
    or
    refurbished mid 2014 MBPr configured to 2.8GHz and 1TB drive

I'm mostly using Adobe creative suites, especially Illustrator and Photoshop for work, and I use Unity3D for VR and AR project development (I also want to try Unreal in future, but probably gonna do it with desktop later...after I save enough for a desktop). I'm still a student so currently mobility is quite important to me.

Considering the applications (AI, PS, Unity3D), which one you think I should get? I will be really appreciated to your suggestions and comments!

Thank you very much for reading!

2. Dark Void macrumors 68030

Dark Void

I'd go for a new 2015 model. You will have a more modern GPU and an updated processor, as well as other features like ForceTouch.

Considering these points, it seems more appealing than doubling your internal storage, but that is a preference matter. If you don't see yourself benefitting from the newer hardware, perhaps you would rather have that storage. It's up to you to decide if that is something that you want, or if you would be okay with carrying around an external if you had to. Nobody can tell you one of these choices is "better" than the other.