Which should I get for college?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Gemmy, Jul 11, 2012.

1. Gemmy macrumors newbie

Hello everyone. I'm new here and very new to macs. I'm happy to say, due to college and the classes I'll be taking, I'll be able to get a mac for school. I'll be taking computer graphics and possibly web programming so I'm going to need a computer with excellent performance and something where I can use Adobe Photoshop CS6, Sony Vegas, and a few other programs. In general, I'll also be using it for a small graphic design business I'll be making soon and just for surfing the web. I'll also be using it in conjunction with a Wacom Intuos4 graphics tablet. As I said before, I am new to macs so I'm very confused on which I should buy for school.

I'm trying to decide between 15" Macbook Pro or the 21" Imac. It's very confusing trying to decide between the two. The macbook pro, of course, is portable so I can take it with me on the go. The Imac, however, is bigger but is a desktop computer. I would be happy with either one but I need to know which is better for me. If anyone can help me decide, I'd really appreciate it :)

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Absent any mention of a budget and nothing conclusive on whether portability is important to you, go for the iMac.

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Given that the 15" MBP is on the Ivy Bridge chipset and the iMac is not at the moment, I'd say the MBP is probably the better choice.

The MacBook Pro gives you the mobility that will be a plus for college, i.e., taking to class and better performance.

While the iMac is no slouch, its best attribute at the moment is the screen size vs. the MBP's. If you think you need more screen real estate and don't need the mobility, then consider the iMac. The performance will be about 15% slower then the MBP

4. Gemmy thread starter macrumors newbie