Which SLR for a beginner/entry level

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by LGShepherd, May 28, 2012.

1. LGShepherd macrumors regular

Hi MacRumors!

I usually read through these forums for Apple computer related stuff, but I have a SLR related question that I hope I could get some help with?

I have no experience in photography or with SLR's, but I now have a 7 month old son who gets photographed a lot. The photos tend to be quick snaps on my iPhone 4 when he is doing something funny or random and the quality is good and what you would expect from an iPhone 4, but as he grows up I would like to have better photos of him and this is where the SLR idea popped into my head.

I understand it will be a large learning curve, but I can imagine the results will be worth it.

The questions that I have is which SLR to get? I have seen two reasonably priced SLR's on the internet, but as I have no experience in this area I don't know which would be best. The choices are:

Nikon D3100 with 18-55mm VR lens
    Canon 1100D with 18-55mm IS or DC lens

The difference in price between the two is about £30, so that wouldn't be a deal breaker. The specs on the Nikon look better to me, but I do know that megapixels etc isn't the only thing to consider.

Once I know what SLR to purchase and get round to that then I know I will need to learn how to use Aperture, Photoshop or equivalent, but I can cross that bridge when I come to it.

If anyone can help then that would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

2. Sirolway macrumors 6502

This won't help you, but I'd advise you to stick to (low end) Nikon or Canon, which you seem to be doing anyway ...

3. LGShepherd thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the reply.

Those SLR's seem to low end(ish) anyways, but I can imagine that there will be other options out there.

Thanks

4. someoldguy macrumors 65816