Which specs should I focus on? (2D graphics + web server)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by splitpea, Oct 21, 2009.

1. splitpea macrumors 6502a

Hi folks --

Looking for a bit of advice on what areas to spend my money on, replacing my old computer. I'm a web developer who spends a lot of time in Photoshop, Flash, and Illustrator, and I also run a local Apache instance that I use to test PHP/MySQL web applications. I don't game, don't do 3D design, and almost never edit video.

With that in mind, I'm looking for some help with a couple questions:

1) Will I get a greater speed boost out of more cores or a higher clock speed?
    2) How much video memory should I be looking for?

Some additional background:

My old computer (a dual 2.0 PowerMac G5 with 4GB RAM and some ATI graphics card from 2005 with 256MB memory) is adequate if not great for this work.

The Photoshop files I use typically are around 1-2M pixels, but have tons of layers and effects (50 layers is common, 100 not unheard of). Photoshop is usable with all but the largest and most complex files, but Illustrator and Flash tend to get very slow with more than a couple dozen layers, and I often end up with palette redraw problems in all the Adobe apps.

Display is dual 20" monitors at 1680x1050 (if I get an iMac, it'll be the 27-incher, plus one of the 20-inchers as an external).

The machine is responsive for most web development, but absolutely crawls running Drupal with a few modules enabled, which makes it useless (20-second page loads are not cool).

I'd like the new computer to last at least 4 years. I don't need it to be able to run the latest and greatest at the end of its life, but would appreciate if it were still as useful as this one is now.