Which SSD to choose for Early 2011 MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tomekwojcik, Sep 17, 2012.

1. tomekwojcik macrumors newbie

Hi guys,
    I'm thinking about upgrading my MacBook Pro with an SSD drive. So far I didn't come up with any particular drive that doesn't cause problems, so I thought I'd ask for help here.

My options are:
    Samsung 830 Series 256GB
    Intel SSD/330 MLC 240GB
    OCZ Vertex 4 256GB

My machine is:
    MacBook Pro 8,1 (Early 2011), i5 2.3GHz, upped to 8GB RAM (don't know RAM model unfortunately, as it was fitted by Apple dealer I bought the machine from). Currently running 10.6.8 but I'm planning to go with 10.8 once (if) I upgrade the drive.

I've read a few dozens of threads and posts here and there about problems with SSD drives in Macs and to be honest I'm kinda sad now. What I need is reliability and data security. I'm a dev (Web for money, Mac/iOS for fun) so I depend on FileVault and need to be sure I won't run into any issues like my Mac randomly freezing, not waking up from sleep or losing data without any apparent reason. The performance boost is a nice feature (not that I'm complaining about performance of my Mac) but the main reason I started to think about SSD is the "no moving parts" thing. I've seen my share of failing HDs and each time my Mac lags for even a second or comes up with a beachball I'm all like "crap, the drive dies" :).

Hope you guys provide me with some valuable insight into the topic and help to choose the best option.

Thanks in advance.

2. afinch1992 macrumors 6502

afinch1992

samsung 830 is the best out of them in general I would say. also you might want to get an external drive and timemachine your drive just in case

3. tomekwojcik thread starter macrumors newbie

I do Time Machine backups every single day, before bedtime. I've lost data once and won't allow this to happen again :).

4. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

NutsNGum

5. tomekwojcik thread starter macrumors newbie