Which SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Parayzeme89`, Feb 21, 2011.

1. Parayzeme89` macrumors newbie

im looking at spendin between 150-400 dollars, i plan to buy my first mac this thursday with the macbook pro refresh and what to start out with a SSD. What brands does everyone use for macs, is there any upcomming teck to wait for?

2. nickarate macrumors regular

I am curious about this too. I was about to pick up a Crucial RealSSD C300 with 128 gigs, but I'm curious to know what the community thinks about them.

Thanks,
    Nick

3. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

ECUpirate44

4. ghsNick macrumors 68020

ghsNick

Uh I'm a bit of a noob...but do you need to order this with the new MacBooks?
    I kinda just want to get my Macbook and not have to buy all this other stuff too.

5. phpmaven macrumors 68040

phpmaven

I have that drive in my MacBook Pro and it's great. I don't know if it's the fastest drive on the planet right now, but it's way up there among the fastest drives you can buy.

6. bossmanjunior macrumors member

bossmanjunior

not in the macbook pro because its a sata III drive. you won't get maximum speeds from the c300 in a mbp

7. nickarate macrumors regular

I heard a rumor that the new MBP would do SATA III. Does that seem feasible?

8. macmac88 macrumors member

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

Seems pretty reasonable... Apple had to make tweaks in order to use the faulty Intel chipsets, so they're forced to use Sata III...

9. ghsNick macrumors 68020

ghsNick

So can you break this down into something I would understand?
    If we get a new one on Thursday with these faulty chips will they still work? aka not mess up 2 years down the road...

10. macmac88 macrumors member