Which system to buy

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by tommymcguck, Dec 23, 2011.

1. tommymcguck macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I have run into the old pickle of which apple product/products is best for my situation, so have come for some advice. Here's my situation...

I have just come back from overseas and don't have a computer or much money, so cost will be a consideration in this. I'm a uni student, but I don't start uni again until the start of march (I live in Australia). The main things I do on computers is surf the web, watch movies, listen to a whole bunch of music, write essays, make cue cards (for study), play the occasional games (pretty much just counter strike source, so not too graphics intense) and occasionally edit a few RAW photos and even less often a little bit of video editing. Because I am studying, portability is going to be a big thing, however I also want something that will be powerful enough to last me a good 4-5 years and still run well with what ever software advances come in that time.

Just before I went overseas I had a base model 13" MacBook pro, with a data doubler from OWC and a SSD. Long story, but this laptop is long gone. I do still have the SSD and data doubler though, so they can be used in another macbook pro or a mac mini. I loved this set up but there were times when I thought it was still a bit too heavy than I would have liked. I ride to uni, so the lighter the better.

After a lot of thinking I have narrowed it down to a few options (not in order of preference)...

1. Get another base model 13" MacBook pro - $1400

2. Mac mini coupled with an iPad. I would go for the 2.5ghz model with discrete graphics. If I went for this option I would get the mini now and the iPad closer to the start of uni, just because of money issues - $1480

3. MacBook air 1.7ghz 128GB HDD - $1450