Which System would you choose?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by BlueWaterVA, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. BlueWaterVA macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Location:
    SouthWest Virginia
    #1
    System 1)
    4,1 Mac Pro upgraded to 5,1 w/W3680 CPU, 12 GB 1333 ram, USB 3.0 card
    and a nVidia GTX 570 w/Artic twin turbo cooler and 1280 MB ram.

    System 2)
    Hackintosh with Gigabyte Z77 UP 5TH motherboard, core i7 3770K CPU,
    32 GB 1866 MHz ram, onboard USB 3.0 and Thunderbolt, nVidia GTX 570

    So, which one would you choose if you needed a smooth system for FCPX editing and Motion compositioning?
     
  2. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #3
    add a poll to this thread. ;)

    For me:

    #1

    ...and upgrade the RAM to 32 or 64GB. I want the 680 too tho so I guess I'd swap that out as well.
     
  3. bsbeamer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #4
    will you be configuring and maintaining #2, or are you paying someone to do that for you? how much is your time worth? can you troubleshoot the issues?

    read the recent articles about people who rely on hack-pro's for business - it sheds some light on the issues you're up against. for personal use, it's one thing... for client-based time sensitive demands, it's another.

    I'd go with #1, a GTX 680 (probably Mac version if it works right when tested), and more RAM.

    Hold off until NAB if you want to make the most informed decision in the short term. It really gets underway Monday and expect to hear at least a few small bits of info trickling out by the end of next week.
     
  4. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    I'd choose System 1 Mac Pro 5,1 and just upgrade the ram. Like what bsbeamer posted, with system 2 how much time and troubleshooting you will consume.
     
  5. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #6
    With 1155 being a dead socket why would you build a hack on that board..

    You Mac isn't slow, yes you can overclock the 4 core and beat it but it's going to take a lot of work to get it that way. You're going to need a modified SSDT to go above 4.5 which you're going to need to do to beat 16-17K. Another data point to consider is the more hardcore overclockers are de-liding Ivy so temps can be controlled.

    If I were to build a hack right now it'd be on 2011 with a 3930K and I'd keep my fingers crossed for a new Mac Pro so you can get your speedstep and sleep back. My build would probably go something like:

    ASUS P9X79-E WS
    i7 3930K
    64GB of Pick-a-RAM (I like G.Skill)
    Your newly cooled 570
    Noctua DH14
    be quiet! Dark Power Pro 10
    Silverstone FT02 or TJ11 if you plan on water at some point.
     
  6. wonderspark macrumors 68040

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    For the record, I based my choice on a black and white decision, no upgrades permitted, as if the system were in a vacuum. :p

    If there is an option to build my own, I'd choose invisible #3, and build a proper system.
     
  7. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #8
    #2 is right off tonymac so I assumed it wasn't built yet
     
  8. mslide macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #9
    #1 for professional work. #2 if you're just looking for something to mess around with as a hobby and don't mind when it's not working right and you have to reinstall/fix/tweak/etc (how much is your time worth?).
     
  9. Jake0604 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #10
    #1, you never know if the next update will break a hackintosh install.
     
  10. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #11
    True, but so it is with actual Apple machines too. Consider 10.8 and the MacPro 1,1 and 2,1 models. :p
     
  11. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #12
    Where is the media that you'll be pumping through the system. On local "disks" or on a SAN ? Essentially, do you only need one high bandwidth PCI-e card or multiple ones?
     
  12. Jake0604 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #13
    They got cut off because they had 32-bit efi, thats just advancements in technology.
     
  13. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #14
    Not when you consider that users can boot them into 64bit EFI. If Apple wanted to they could supply this solution themselves officially. So really, no, not "just advancements in technology"... :p
     
  14. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #15
    Not quite, it's forced obsolescence.
     
  15. Bohab macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Location:
    Denver
    #16
    #1 without question. Never trust a Hackintrash.
     
  16. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
  17. rezwits macrumors 6502a

    rezwits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #18
    #1

    #1

    Xeons crash less. (Thread starter :p

    and also what above said about and Update Breaking the Hack
     
  18. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #19
    Hackintosh.
    For simple reason of allowing user UEFI entery.
     
  19. ihuman:D macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #20
    Disregard his posts unless you want a good laugh. ;)

    @OP I'd go for no.1 because it would be more reliable than the hackintosh Apple software/ Mac OS X -wise and is guaranteed not to have major issues(sort of).
     
  20. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #21
    Wha?
    Is everything I post somehow offensive to you?
    What is wrong with that posting about the entering the firmware on a recent hackintosh motherboard?
     
  21. ihuman:D, Apr 5, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2013

    ihuman:D macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #22
    No, but your posts are sometimes clueless, foolish, dangerous, have no logic in them or are just plain wrong.

    You sprout lies and when people correct you over and over again you never listen you just keep going on and on and on and on...

    You give advice like getting screws out with a hammer in a laptop. You think you can run intel only OSes and Apps/games natively or successfully and fast with emulation on PowerPC - You also say you have "proof" that you can do this. Where is it!?

    Shall I go on?
     
  22. Jake0604 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #23
    Yeah I guess your right.
     
  23. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #24
    Yup, ya just never know for sure when the next OS X release is going to stop (easily) working on your hardware. It only makes a tiny bit of difference whether it's Apple sanctioned hardware or something else.
     
  24. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #25
    You don't know much, and assume much. That in itself isn't inherently bad we've all been there, what is troubling is that you don't LISTEN. You learn so much more when you close you mouth and open your ears or in this case read and research. You've in essence been laughed out of the PowerPC forums and they tend to be a very laid back bunch, the Mac Pro forums are not so laid back.
     

Share This Page