Which to get: VMware or Parallels

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by nisca11, May 8, 2008.

1. nisca11 macrumors newbie

Hello
    I will be buying from MacMall today and was going to get the free option of either parallels or VMWare. I wanted to know what you guys thought was the best version to run windows.
    Right now I am on a Powerbook G4 so I have only run the silly MS program for Virtual Machines. So any one of the two I am sure will be a 100% improvement. But I have no experience with either. So please help me choose.

Thanks alot for your help. I appreciate the community.

2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

those programs only work if you have an intel mac.

since you have a powerbook, you are stuck with virtual pc..which sucks i know

now if you did have an intel mac, i would reccomend vmware, but both are good

3. Hawkeye411 macrumors 68000

Hawkeye411

I've used both and VMWare seems to be more stable. I actually switched to VMWare because I was having problems using Parallels. It kept freezing up and was driving my research assistant crazy.

Cheers.

P.S. What computer are you buying?

4. Sky Blue Guest

Sky Blue

Might want to try reading that post again.

I'd go with Fusion.

5. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

mrwizardno2

6. pjrobertson macrumors 6502a

+1 for Fusion. Haven't had any problems, and if you wait a bit.... you could get v2.0 (I'm not sure if it's a free upgrade for people who buy v1.1 now, but it's free for the early-adopters)

7. nisca11 thread starter macrumors newbie

Just to clarify, I currently have a PB G4

I am looking to buy the
    MacBook Pro
    2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2GB/200GB/8600MGT/SD
    at Macmall, I was going to buy anyway but today noticed they dropped the price almost 50 dollars so I will probably get it.

They say I can get Parallels for free or VMware for 20 dollars now that I look at it.