Which to use - Time Capsule or Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by leehal, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. leehal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #1
    I am having FTTC broadband installed tomorrow and have a 1TB Time Capsule model number A1302 or an Airport Extreme model number A1143 available.

    Does anyone know which is the most up to date to use as a router?
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    The Time Capsule seems to be a simultaneous dual band model while the Airport Extreme isn't, so I'd go for the Time Capsule.

    B
     
  3. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #3
    Airport Extreme is simultaneous dual band too.
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    Either is a good choice, it just depends on how much you need to rely on the integrated HDD in TIme Capsule. If you really don't need it, then the choice is really 50/50.
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
  6. leehal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #6
    I thought that was the issue with the older version of the Airport Extreme, thanks for confirming.
     

Share This Page