Which TV connection is better?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Chuchichan, Sep 22, 2011.

  1. Chuchichan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
    #1
    Currently I connect my PowerBook G4 (about 7 years old) to my TV via S-video. I'm thinking about upgrading my laptop to the MacBook Air 13". Since the MBA doesn't have s-video, it looks like I will connect it to my TV via VGA. So, I was wondering which connection is better (s-video or VGA)...

    Is there another way to connect the MBA to my TV other than VGA? I don't have a DVI port on my TV...just VGA, s-video and component...


    Thanks...
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
  3. njaremka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    #3
    if your tv has an HDMI input, best would be mini-display port to hdmi connection. but, if you can't do that, then its vga.
     
  4. Chuchichan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thanks for the replies. I was still wondering though which is a better connection...

    Svideo or VGA?
     
  5. njaremka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    #5
    VGA is probably a little bit better
     
  6. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #6
    If you look at the maximum capabilities of VGA vs. s-video, then VGA is much much much better. VGA is capable of supporting 1920x1200 resolution, while s-video is limited to 800x600.

    However, depending on your TV, the VGA port may have limitations that can limit is usefulness. Some TV manufacturers used to limit the VGA connection to 1280x1024 (or lower). Mostly, this is seen with older CRTs, so it didn't really matter since even the best consumer CRTs could only resolve 800-900 lines.

    What kind of TV do you have? Make and Model will be helpful.
     
  7. Chuchichan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Hi. Thanks very much for your reply. I have a Sharp Aquos 32 inch. (LC-32AD5). I'm living in Japan and purchased this about 6 years ago.
     

Share This Page