Which upgrades: iMac 5k for graphic design

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Add-Delay, Nov 27, 2014.

1. Add-Delay macrumors newbie

Add-Delay

Hi all,

I'm about to pull the trigger on an iMac 5k, and despite plenty of threads I still can't decide on which upgrades to spring for.

I'm obviously going to get extra RAM separately (two 8gb sticks to bring it up to 24gb), and thinking the 512gb SSD, but stuck on the CPU and GPU upgrades, especially which will give me greater impact over the life of the machine.

My current iMac is an early 2009 model, and looking to get a similar 5+ year life out of this one. But obviously don't want to go overboard because it adds up very quickly.

I'm a graphic designer (branding, print, web), and this is going to be my home machine (my primary work machine will live at the studio). I do some extra work at home, and occasionally do my day work from home too. Primarily using Creative Cloud (InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, Acrobat, Lightroom). PS work is not taxing filter heavy stuff - more layer styles, blend mode, paragraph styles. (I could almost completely remove the filter menu given how little use it is). So not sure whether that kind of use would benefit more from the CPU or GPU upgrades, or even not benefit much from either. Gaming performance is not of a concern.

Cheers

2. Nosferax macrumors regular

The base CPU would be fine for your need, but for longevity I would upgrade the GPU... Graphical slowdown as a bigger impact on your perception of the performance of your computer as the years goes by.

My i3 based 2010 iMac still does the job cpu wise in photoshop CC, but the GPU is just not powerful enough anymore...

3. spiritlevel macrumors 6502

I'm a designer and I went for the CPU, GPU and 512 SSD upgrades.

+ an OWC Thunderbay 4 and 12TB of drives...

If you want 5 years + of life out of it I would get the CPU upgrade too if at all possible but get the GPU first.