Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bbadalucco

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 4, 2009
As I stated in a previous post I’m just getting into photography. I’m in school for a few more months and was thinking it would be smart to pickup Photoshop while I can (for $199/$299). I guess my question is should I get the Normal or Extended version. I don’t have much interest in anything with video, just pictures. With doing some research it appears the extended version offer the following over the normal version.

1. Breakthrough 3D, motion graphics, and image analysis
2. Comprehensive image analysis with enhanced measurement and counting tools, as well as support for DICOM images and MATLAB processing routines
What would you recommend I get???

The normal version is $199 and the Extended $299

jampat

macrumors 6502a
Mar 17, 2008
As I stated in a previous post I’m just getting into photography. I’m in school for a few more months and was thinking it would be smart to pickup Photoshop while I can (for $199/$299). I guess my question is should I get the Normal or Extended version. I don’t have much interest in anything with video, just pictures. With doing some research it appears the extended version offer the following over the normal version.

1. Breakthrough 3D, motion graphics, and image analysis
2. Comprehensive image analysis with enhanced measurement and counting tools, as well as support for DICOM images and MATLAB processing routines
What would you recommend I get???

The normal version is $199 and the Extended $299

For photography, extended gives you very little extra.

Be careful with student licenses of Adobe software, I don' t believe Adobe allows them to be upgraded (ie. to CS5) in the future, you need to buy a full license of the new version if you want to upgrade. As long as you know this going in, the student version is a great deal.

Designer Dale

macrumors 68040
Mar 25, 2009