Which version of TrimEnabler works in dP-4?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by m4v3r1ck, Jul 25, 2014.

  1. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
    Can't enable Trim Enabler in DP4.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    I don't know about DP-4, but I installed the public beta last night and the Chameleon SSD Optimizer, beta version 0.9.4, which was released for 10.9.4 seems to work for me.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Thanks for your quick response! I'll wait for the latest Cindori fix then.
     
  4. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Possible Fix?

    Possible fix:
    Can anyone tell me if the 4 terminal commands used in the dP1 - dP3 updates still have to be executed for using TE 3.2.2 in dP4? Thanks in advance!
     
  5. whosjose, Jul 25, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2014

    whosjose macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #5
    I was wrong about Trim Enabler.

    I tried Chameleon SSD and it works.
     
  6. ths6tm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    #6
    Trim Yosemite beta public

    Trim enabler don't work if unused the terminal command but i see that Chameleon SSD WORKS on this post!!! That's true?

    Chameleon SSD 0.9.5 ? 0.9.4? enable trim on yosemite Beta Public ?

    Give me an answer please

    thx u:)
     
  7. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #7
    Chameleon v 0.9.5 was released as a beta build for Mavericks 10.9.4. I used it on Yosemite and it works.
     
  8. les2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #8
    wait!!!

    1) chameleon version 0.9.4 is not compatible with yosemite!

    2) chameleon 0.9.5 is compatible but first you need to enable system to load unsigned kext ;)

    3) I tested it only on yosemite 10.10 DP3, I have to do it on DP4


    if your system do not reboot after enabling trim on DP4 you can restore the original kext manually
     
  9. Risco macrumors 68000

    Risco

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    Wish I had seen this earlier.

    Nice one, you just nuked my install! :mad::mad: It does NOT work.
     
  10. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #10
    Sorry for your luck. But it does work on my installation and I've had no issues with it. What exactly happened?
     
  11. Risco macrumors 68000

    Risco

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    Refused to boot, come up with a HD and cross over it.
     
  12. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #12
    Have you tried doing a reinstall?
     
  13. Risco macrumors 68000

    Risco

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #13
    Yep, and it would not reinstall. Came up with an error, had to format and restore from Time Machine.
     
  14. BaldyUK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #14
    For future reference, if you get that sign on boot then boot to recovery using cmd-r and open Terminal and enter these commands

    Code:
    rm -rf /Volumes/<10.10 Partition>/System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext
    cp -r /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext /Volumes/<10.10 Partition>/System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext
    touch /Volumes/<10.10 Partition>/System/Library/Extensions
    kextcache -u /Volumes/<10.10 Partition>
    Then boot as normal.
     
  15. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    Trim enabler work on DP4... Run the executable

    Code:
    /Applications/Trim\ Enabler.app/Contents/MacOS/Trim Enabler
     
  16. Fangio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #16
    Nice. And which version is recommended for DP4 and PB – 3.2.4?

    Comments on Cindoris website seem to favor 3.2.2
     
  17. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #17
    Don't feel too bad, you're not alone. I hope you had a TM backup and/or had installed on a separate HD. Remember we are testing here :)

    ----------

    Sadly, this didn't work for me. The commands all ran correctly and appeared to work, but I still have a non-bootable Yosemite drive. Any suggestions?
     

Share This Page