Which version of Vista

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by pjn, Sep 5, 2008.

  1. pjn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Will Vista Home Basic or Vista Home Premium work okay with Fusion?
     
  2. colonels1020 macrumors regular

    colonels1020

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    I don't believe so. Unless I'm missing something, neither the Basic or Premium versions are listed as compatible operating systems. Link

    I believe it violates microsoft TOS to install either Home Basic and Home Premium on a virtual machine. Although this might have changed, based on this press release.
     
  4. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #4
    MS did change their TOS to allow Premium and Basic to be used in virtual machines (such as Fusion).

    Either version will be fine. If you plan on using Boot Camp, I would go for Home Premium (only a few bucks more) for Aero and Media Center. If all you ever plan on doing with it is using it in Fusion, then you can't enable Aero, and you probably won't be using Media Center.
     
  5. Galapp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    #5
    I wouldn't recomend you to use vista... only if you really need it. both will work ok, but will require a lot from your computer.
     
  6. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #6
    Yea, from fusion's site, Home Basic/Premium aren't listed as supported. You could try though. I use Ultimate thru Boot Camp so I'm always covered and supported.
     

Share This Page