Which version of Windows should I get?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tony3d, Jul 7, 2012.

  1. tony3d macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #1
    I'm going to be getting Windows for my sons 2008 dual quad core Mac Pro and need to know which version of Windows to get. Which version should I get to access all eight cores? Also, would any Windows viruses affect the home network or Mac OS X on any other machines? Thanks for the advice.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    I'd go with Windows 7. Also, no Windows malware can run on or affect Mac OS X.

    Mac Virus/Malware FAQ
     
  3. thefredelement macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Windows 7 is the least crappiest version and it's actually not bad. Unless he has any specific needs, the Home Premium version should be just fine. The windows kernel will be able to initialize all the cores on the MP.

    It's hard to say about any viruses, there are a lot of them out there, most of them these days seem to want to either turn your PC in to a bot, or just keep directing you to a web page to signup for a service to "fix" your PC. Just make sure the Windows install has the latest updates and install Microsoft Security Essentials and it should be a pretty solid install.
     
  4. Librarian580 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #4
    You will need to get the 64-Bit version of Windows 7. 32-Bit will be unable to take advantage of all of the Mac Pro's RAM and Power. This is unrelated to the EFI32/64 stuff.
     
  5. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #5
    Home premium has an artificial RAM limit. Why not wait for Windows 8??
     
  6. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  7. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    I have 7 Professional on Mac Pro locally and Win 7 Enterprise on VM's. Appears to be good enough. Whatever you do don't get "Ultimate". That was a waste. I bought it for Vista (DX10 was the only reason). I was just pissed at MS's upgrade model. You HAD to get Ultimate if you previously owned Ultimate so the stupid upgrade was $249.00. So Professional New - no upgrade was cheaper. So lame.
     
  8. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #8
    I'm not aware of any viruses that spread, but just to be safe I deleted the windows dll that alows the windows partition to see the OS X partition.

    I know I'm paranoid, but I feel safer knowing that if my windows install gets compromised that it won't be able to see any of my personal data in OS X.
     
  9. brentsg macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #9
    VM software can be set to allow or disallow sharing with the host platform.
     
  10. englishman macrumors 6502a

    englishman

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
  11. wallysb01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #11
    Alternatively, you could find the nearest window and jump out of it. Have you used/seen windows 8, its has to be the worst operating system Microsoft has ever made, and that's saying something.
     
  12. beaker7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #12
    Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit.

    Home Premium only supports 1 CPU.
     
  13. phpmaven macrumors 68040

    phpmaven

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    San Clemente, CA USA
    #13
    If you are going to use Bootcamp, then Windows 7 is your only option.
     
  14. hexagonheat macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    #14
    Actually I've being playing with the release preview of Windows 8 and I'm finding it to be quite stable and fun to use. I was concerned at first about the metro design but it was really intuitive and when I go back to Windows 7 I find myself missing the tiles.
     
  15. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #15
    16GB not enough?
     
  16. GermanyChris, Jul 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012

    GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #16
    No..

    Even the new To me G5 has 16. All the other desktops have/had 24 or 32.....

    iMacs can take 32 now along with all other Sandy Bridge.
     
  17. Lancer macrumors 68020

    Lancer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
    Microsoft just announced cheaper upgrades for Windows, about $40 US even if you're upgrading from XP.

    http://windowsteamblog.com/windows/...07/02/upgrade-to-windows-8-pro-for-39-99.aspx

    I'd love to upgrade the PC box I have but I'd need more RAM and a faster CPU, both of which are hard to do at a good price on my current setup.
     
  18. englishman macrumors 6502a

    englishman

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #18
    The metro is weird at first as its geared more for touch. I think the usability aspects need tweaking. But for the OP at least its free. I've found it quite solid within BC. As you say there some fun bits like the copying progress indicators.
     
  19. wallysb01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #19
    Of course this is just my personal preference but I hate, HATE, those tiles, just like I hate "Launch Pad". It just feels very disorganized and cluttered. It works with phones, when you only regularly use maybe 4 apps, but in computers when I need maybe 20?
     
  20. englishman macrumors 6502a

    englishman

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #20
    Right click on them and you can make them smaller - also rearrange - very similar to iOS.

    These companies don't want 2 OS and pretty much everything is moving to mobile/tablet worldwide.
     
  21. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #21
    Forcefully and without want or need of it's users, yes. The push feels like a shove. Kind of like "the cloud". It sucks but they can't think of anything better right now so...
     
  22. wallysb01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #22
    Exactly, and once we've all been shoved off the end, forced to use mobile OSes for desktop computers, someone will come along and give people what they want.

    If Apple merges OSX and iOS with OS XI or whatnot, and Window's keeps this path up with Windows 8 then 9, I think we'll see record Ubuntu downloads.
     
  23. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #23
    Windows 7 Professional x64. It is hands down the best version of Windows to date and is one of the, if not the best OS out there right now. And as long as you know how to behave on the interent (not going to any questionable sites etc.) You don't have to worry about viruses. But just in case, you can instal Microsoft Security Essentials. You just install it and forget about it.
     
  24. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #24
    Where as Win 7 Ultimate x64 is totally different eh? And you couldn't tell the dif if it was 32-bit instead?Pretty astute as there are only 3 real OS's to choose from. Linux distros count as 1. Don't see much difference in 7 as in Vista which was barely different than XP. All they did was fix things that should have not been broken. Their user elements are still concocted by 5-year olds who love to have windows in windows in windows in... Just to get to a simple TCP/IP setting or something. It plays games great though:rolleyes:
     
  25. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #25
    Hmmmm? Windows 7 Professional is the best all around version in my opinion. Most people do not need Bit Locker or Bit Locker to go which is the only difference between Pro and Ult. x64 is vastly superior these days with better stability, more ram support etc. And you're kidding yourself if you say Vista and XP are "barely different". I almost spit my drink all over my keyboard when I read that. You are correct when you say Windows 7 fixed things that should not have been broken, but I don't see what's bad about that.

    ----------

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page