Which version OS x to buy for Virtualbox and Xcode?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by miner_tom, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. miner_tom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #1
    Hello,

    I am completely new to OS X. I would like to run Xcode, which runs exclusively on mac operating systems. I therefore need to purchase a version of OS x that I can load on a virtual machine (I usually run linux with VirtualBox).

    I have been reading that in some versions of OS X that Xcode is included as part of the distribution. Is this true?

    Is Snow leopard 10.6.3 a good choice for loading Xcode on a virtual machine running it?

    Thank You
    Tom
     
  2. dogslobber macrumors 68020

    dogslobber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Apple Campus, Cupertino CA
    #2
    You can only legally run OS X in a guest where the host is also OS X.
     
  3. hiddenmarkov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #3
    Xcode is release limited. Avoiding the hackintosh road you seem to want to go down...snow leopard will only have access to older Xcode versions. latest and greatest that supports swift(s) and such is only el capitan and yosemite iirc (maybe mavericks, forget the version that was the cutoff for the release of Xcode with swift (v1) release).


    Xcode as far as I know was never stock on the OS install either. its a DL from apple.

    Now if wanting to run this in virtual and on a mac OS with a real mac based computer I know parallels can make a VM based on a proper mac installs recovery partition. Don't think virtual box does this, vmware I am not sure of either.
     
  4. pchaves83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    #4
    I'm installed the Mac OS X Yosemite in a Virtualbox machine and it's running ok (I have a i7 notebook with Windows 8.1), but I can't get the Xcode... I don't what is going on...
     
  5. bobdamnit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    #5
    Yeah, we can't help you there. Running OS X in a virtual machine on any computer not already running OS X is breaking Apple's EULA.

    Good luck!
     
  6. pchaves83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    #6
    Good news, i updated Mac OS X Yosemite 10.10 to 10.10.5 and now it's ok. I installed the Xcode normally. Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page