Which video card, 9600m vs. 9400m

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Traeger2591, Jun 9, 2009.

1. Traeger2591 macrumors member

Ok, so I am pretty new to macs and have decided to buy a 15" MBP after the conference updates.

I am very pleased with the updates and the price cuts they have made but I can't decide whether I should get the 2.53ghz or the 2.66ghz. The reason I am debating this is because of the video card. I doubt the speed with the processors will be much different but I have seen a few posts mentioning that once snow leopard comes out, having the dedicated gpu will help. I was wondering if this was true. If so, how much of a difference will it make.

On another note, I will be studying music business in college and plan on using my macbook for recording purposes so I don't think the video card will make too much of a difference. I also don't play any computer games whatsoever. Thanks for all replies.

2. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

Honestly, I don't think the answer you want is known just yet. Audio apps won't benefit much from the GPU as it stands today, and the processor difference is minimal. Were things to stay this way, I'd recommend you get the lower end one and spend some of your $300 on 4GB of RAM, and pocket the rest.

However, Snow Leopard will be adding the ability to use the GPU for a lot of non-graphic things, and audio apps could stand to benefit quite a lot of from this, as they tend to be processor intensive (when run "native") and be made up of a lot of small tasks. An OpenCL capable Logic is probably not that far away, to be honest. Other apps could follow in the future. The 9600 has about double the performance of the 9400, and could come in handy when you are stacking up a lot of tracks and plugins. It's honestly hard to say.

In a nutshell: You will be spending $300 for a substantial performance boost that is not available today, but probably will be in the future, who knows when.