which webcam for G4 mac

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by gorilly, Sep 6, 2008.

  1. gorilly macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hi

    My dad needs a web cam for his G4... he doesnt want to pay loads of money but wants one which is half decent... anyone know of one?

    been looking but cant find one and the official apple one is very expensive for a webcam

    he is on 10.3.9 (soon to be 10.4)

    thanks!
     
  2. cyclingplatypus macrumors 6502a

    cyclingplatypus

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    The XBOX Live camera is nice and the IceCam2 from Macally is very nice as well.
     
  3. dmarch macrumors regular

    dmarch

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Big Sky, MT
    #3
    I'm using the Logitech QuickCam Vision Pro and love it. One of few plug & play cams for mac and 30 fps to boot.
     
  4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    How about an iSight? Those are compatible with macs, and quality is pretty good. It is very aesthetic and fits in well with apple computers.
     
  5. lizzymayers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #5
    Webcam: Ecamm iMage or Macalley Icecam2??

    I have an iBook G4 (10.4.11) and I want to get a webcam to use with Skype. I've been looking at the Ecamm iMage USB Plug & Go Webcam, and I've been looking at the Macalley Icecam2. The Icecam2 is half the price of the iMage but I can't tell why... Does anyone know the main differences and can anyone let me know which one is a better bet?

    I want to use it with Skype to talk to my parents. They have a PC.
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    The problem is they are not made anymore, so they will either be used or refurbished and both will be expensive.
     
  7. Counter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #7
    The IceCam2 from Macally has USB 2.0 listed in system requirements. Wonder if this means it flat out wont work with USB 1.0? If this is the case it would definitely depend on what G4 your dad has. Unless he has something plugged into it offering USB 2.0 (like a display newer than the G4).
     

Share This Page