Which Windows 7 to buy?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by maarten64, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. maarten64 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #1
    I ordered a new Macbook Pro and I think I'm going to set up a dual boot with Windows 7. Currently I'm using VMWare Fusion for Windows XP but since graphics aren't really supported by VMWare I want to set up a Bootcamp installation on my new Macbook Pro. The main reason is playing games occasionally, so I will be in Windows about once of twice a week. Not that much....

    Question: Should I buy the 32 bit of 64 bit version of Windows 7. Keeping the above in mind (games).

    BTW: If someone has a totally different idea on how to play games on my mac please feel free to share :)
     
  2. noah82 macrumors 6502a

    noah82

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  3. noah82 macrumors 6502a

    noah82

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Definitely 64-bit, otherwise you're limited to 3GB of RAM. Keep in mind that retail version comes with both, 32-bit and 64-bit, I think

    If you're going to play Valve's games, wait for Steam for Mac to come (should be out soon) as then you can play games natively under OS X
     
  5. maarten64 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #5
    I ordered the 8 GB RAM upgrade so I want to use them all :):)

    Actually I just want to play some Red Alert 3 (Also for Mac, I know) and this game looks cool: http://hawxgame.us.ubi.com/
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Is there a Mac version of Hawx? If you're going to play like once or twice a week as you said, Mac versions are enough but then again, it's not that big fuss to boot into Bootcamp several times a week.

    Get the 64-bit Windows (Home Premium should be okay), otherwise you will lose 5GB of your RAM
     
  7. maarten64 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #7
    No there is not, that's the main reason for setting up bootcamp. I will also setup a VMWare machine so I can switch easliy for work. (Webdeveloper, need to check in windows from time to time).
     
  8. kyleh613 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #8
    HAWX actually isn't that terribly good of a game. I know, because I was really looking forward to it before it was released and bought it day 1 despite the average to mediocre reviews it was getting. :(

    But yeah, echoing the comments about getting 64bit windows 7, not 32bit. I don't know why someone would say 32bit windows, noah82 was trolling I think.
     
  9. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #9
    Check to see which older games you have and see if they run under windows 7 64 bit. A lot of them don't. That will help you decide between 32 bit and 64 bit windows 7.
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    Can't you run them in compatibility mode (available in Professional version at least)? My friends have W7 64-bit and they run all games without issues, newer and older ones. Isn't the biggest problem that do they run on Vista/7, not the 32 vs 64 bit?
     
  11. maarten64 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #11
    Thank you guys! 64 bit will be it.

    I don't have any games now. Except 'Raven Shield' on my mac which is like a 2001 game or so. I know all levels by heart so no real fun in there anymore...

    Too bad about HAWX not being as good as it seems.. maybe I should just buy Red Alert 3 for Mac and wait with the whole bootcamp thing.
     
  12. kyleh613 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #12
    It sounds like you are really into RTS games, so don't forget Starcraft 2 comes out this year for Mac OS X and Windows.
     
  13. noah82 macrumors 6502a

    noah82

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #13
    My bad...I forgot to ask about memory. You definitely need the 64 bit version then.
     
  14. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #14
    The compatibility mode is just running XP in Virtual PC. It is quite slow and I doubt it allows for hardware acceleration.
     
  15. kasakka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #15
    The XP compatibility mode is different from XP mode. XP mode, as you say, is running XP in a virtual machine - it's only meant for really crappy, old proprietary apps some companies might have. XP compatibility mode is mostly just telling a program that the operating system is XP or Vista or whatever you choose which may allow it to run. It is generally only needed when a program has OS detection code that doesn't recognize Win7.

    OP, just get Home Premium 64-bit. Unless you do something other than games with the RAM, 8 GB is totally excessive. No game will use that much.
     

Share This Page