Which windows for games (Crysis, AoC)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Gloor, May 21, 2008.

  1. Gloor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #1
    Hi, which version of windows should I go for? Vista or XP? I have Mac Pro (early 2008) with 8GB ram. Also, what program should I use to simulate windows? Parallers, wm... or something else? Should I get 64bit version of windows or 32?
    Thanks for any help
     
  2. p.luik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Faribault, MN
    #2
    I use Boot Camp and run 32 bit vista. I should be using 64 bit but 32 works just fine for me. Use vista so that you can get DX10 out of Crysis. Thats why I do it, even at the expense of FPS. I would recommend the nVidia card or something better on the Windows side for Crysis though.
     
  3. ninjapenguinart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #3
    Well sure you get DX10, but you do get the drop in framerate and the graphics aren't rendered as quickly as they would in XP. My vote is for XP. Also, I still don't like how Crysis requires larger specs on Vista than XP, just because of how Vista uses its resources.
     
  4. Gloor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #4
    Hi, thanks for info. I tried bootcamp but it didn't proceed the installation after reboot so i am now trying parallels as someone told me they are really good too. Is there a safe way to remove boot camp partition and put it back to max osx one without messing up my system? I don't wanna lose any data as that would kill me :)
     
  5. ninjapenguinart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #5
    You can just use the bootcamp utility . . . but just to warn you . . . you won't be able to run crysis or aoc on parallels or any other virtual machine program, because they are just virtual machines with poor or no support for directx or opengl. So, my opinion is keep your bootcamp partition if you just want windows to game.
     
  6. MikkiMix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #6
    Did anyone of you experienced any probs with GF8800 on Vista 32 (MacPro new gen, Boot Camp) and AoC? I got blue screen problem - crash during playing. Do you use Boot Camp drivers or other stuff (NVidia)?

    I am going mad about that issue. Can anyone share any advice or experience in this matter?

    Regards

    Mikolaj
     
  7. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Drop in framerate? Oh yeah, that 1-2 fps is such a huge loss when you're getting 90 fps. Actually though, that's not entirely true, as in some cases you get better framerates in Vista than in XP. Vista is built for new computers. Yes it takes up a little more resources, but it's not like computers these days don't have the power to make up for it. Truth is, Vista is a very solid OS with lots of good under the hood changes, and is very speedy. Don't let the FUD and BS that circle this forum confuse you.
     
  8. sadconan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #8
    Question on AOC Unfair Advantages

    Hi i would like to take this time to get a quick poll on members. I'm not sure if i can post this here so if I'm violating the rules mods feel free to delete this post right away, however this is something that has been bugging me so i decided it was time to create an account here and post. Anyways the question at hand is do people think botting sites should be allowed. For example i did a quick search on the net and pulled up right away sites like AOC Age of Conan Bots and Radars , AOC Age of Conan Cheats Exploits and Hacks , Or Age of Conan Guides these sites not only have bots but they have radars that can see players in game. This is something that is totally unfair and gives players far to great of an advantage on others. Well anyways personally i think they should not be allowed as it makes the legit players far underpowered to the overly powerful players. Here is even a screen shot of the radar working that they have on there site it needs to be stopped.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page