Which Windows OS + partitioning help?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by fstfrwrd, Jun 16, 2008.

  1. fstfrwrd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    i need windows for school (bummer) to run AutoCAD, revit and other architectural design programs.

    i'm getting a MBP 2.5ghz w/ 4GB RAM


    i will be only be using the windows side of the computer to:
    * run autocad + revit
    * run the odd application

    performance is the highest priority.

    so which windows OS should i get?
    xp or vista? and which version of vista?
    some people have recommended me Vista business 64bit.



    also, from what i've read, you can't adjust the partition in bootcamp once it's been created, right? (well not very easily)

    so how big should i make this partition? (so it fits the OS, the programs and maybe firefox and stuff like that)
     
  2. weemanpow3 macrumors 6502

    weemanpow3

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    I have the new macbook pro with 4gb rm and im running Windows Vista Ultimate x64 and is always running fast, for me anyway. I also use Autodesk Inventor. Im have tones of games such as Crysis, Orangebox, Mass Effect and etc. It all runs smooth after you update all your drivers. Since the har driver comes with the MBP (250gb) i partitioned it to 80gb for the windows side. I thing its a perfect size beacause I have quite a bit on it. It all depends on what programs you are gonna be running so it gives you an idea on size.
     
  3. fstfrwrd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    well, i wont be running any games.
    just the architectural programs and the odd application that requires windows only.

    i think 80gb is overkill then ... would you agree?

    i'm probably getting a 200gb (because they're 7200rpm) hard drive, so i would be using almost half of my HD for windows then, but i'm only on there like 10% of the time.

    thoughts?
     
  4. ninjapenguinart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #4
    To save space and still get real good perfomance "some times better performance" go with Windows XP Pro 32 bit. That way you will need, in my opinion, a minimum of 50 gigs, 6ish for XP, 2 for Autocad, and then a good chunk for better perfomance and if you just start putting more stuff in. Also, I know getting XP sp 3 to work is a bit easier than Vista 64 sp 1, but then again I am using an iMac and not a macbook pro so I don't know if the drivers from the install disk get put on as easily.
     
  5. Ozz.Man macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #5
    Ugh I hated Vista, and had to redo my whole rig. I also found 80 gig was a bit small, my games added up quickly
     
  6. Siron macrumors 6502

    Siron

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    I run AutoDesk Architecture 64 on Vista Business 64 bit with no problems at all. Also Vista 64 runs games faster than XP 32 bit.
     
  7. tsice19 macrumors 6502a

    tsice19

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #7
    Having just posted about that, I think this is what it comes down to:

    Windows XP=Performance/reliability

    Windows Vista=New and up-to-date, looks better, less reliable.


    I'm not really sure, but those are my two cents.
     
  8. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #8
    Since Autocad 2009 is available in 64 bit you may want 64 bit Vista to utilize all 4GB of RAM. If you just run 32bit versions then you might as well get XP.

    First off get the OEM version of either Vista or XP it is much cheaper, they can be bought at Newegg.com. As for Vista you might as well go Ultimate since the OEM version is only a little more than the Business version.

    If you go for Vista disable User Account Control (UAC) and Windows Defender this will remove a lot of slowdowns and aggravating pop ups. For security and performance in either Vista or XP get the free Zonealarm firewall (XP only they have not made a 64bit Vista one), Avast Antivirus and use Firefox. These use hardly any resources (Avast can run on a 486) and provide a solid lockdown.
     

Share This Page