Which would you pick, and why?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by abijnk, Dec 16, 2007.

1. abijnk macrumors 68040

abijnk

I am a college student and have an extra class to fill in next semester so I can remain with full time status. So, I have decided that I want to take a foreign language course. I have a few options:

Spanish
    German
    Ancient Greek

Since I don't have a true need for being able to speak another language the choice has been a difficult one, and since taking all three isn't realistic, I thought I would reach into the infinite wisdom that is macrumors and see what you all thought on the subject. Which would you pick? And why?

2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

I would pick Spanish; it's spoken by millions of people all over the world. Or if I was interested in history, I might do Greek.

3. Much Ado macrumors 68000

Much Ado

Well Spanish is clearly the most useful, seeing as >5% of the world's population speak it, but German would be (is) my choice. It's really easy to grasp and it's great fun too.

Greek...i don't know. No experience there.

Surely that would be Ancient Greek?

4. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

Jaffa Cake

My immediate thought would be that Spanish is the most widely spoken of those three languages in the States (and is widely spoken around the world too), so picking that one might be useful.

What are you studying for your main course though – might knowledge of Greek or German be of some benefit to your study?

5. abijnk thread starter macrumors 68040

abijnk

I'm a computer science major, and will be working in the aerospace industry. So, I guess its more for my own enjoyment really.

6. mrkramer macrumors 603

mrkramer

If you don't have a need with your major to take one of the othber ones take spanish since a lot of people in the US speak it, so it would be the most useful of any of them.

7. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

That wasn't an option; don't split hairs. :D