white dot next to edit in toolbar

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by buxton2009, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. buxton2009 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #1
    cannot use the button to the right of C, when pressing the button to the right of C the edit in the toolbar is highlighted, any ideas?
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
  3. buxton2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #3
    white dot next to edit

    yeah thats right, unable to use that letter?
     
  4. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #4
    The only time that happens is when you're holding Command (Apple button).

    If you aren't pressing it, try taking the key out and cleaning it.

    It's trying to paste something in your typing field, a shortcut to going to Edit>Paste, so it's highlighting that you're actually going to the Edit menu.



    Worth a try, atleast.
     
  5. buxton2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #5
    white dot next to edit

    when pressing either cmd buttons or the button that does'nt work i get a beep as if it works but no letter, its as if its been assigned to do something else, when pressing the button the edit in the tool bar is then high lighted? when i press the button that doesnt work and tap N a new window appears??
     
  6. Lanbrown macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    #6
    The command key is stuck. You have two options.
    1) Get it unstuck yourself.
    2) Pay for it to be repaired.
     
  7. buxton2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #7
    i dont think it is stuck, i fink some how i assigned the letter to the cmd button?
     
  8. Lanbrown macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    #8
    Create another account; login with that account and see. If it works normally, then you did. if it still doesn't work, then you have a hardware issue. Unless you installed a 3rd party app, I doubt you remapped the keyboard.
     
  9. buxton2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #9
    i logged in under a different account and the same problem?
     
  10. Lanbrown macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
  11. buxton2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #11
    ahh ok, sorry not my computer, know nothing about macs either!! thanks for all your help, would you know if its an easy fix?
     
  12. Lanbrown macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    #12
    That would depend on WHAT is wrong with it.

    Do you go see a doctor or explain things over the phone/Internet? Do you go to the mechanic or ask them for help over the phone/Internet? See where this is going?

    You could take the machine to an Apple store if you are in the US. They are still open and could answer all of your question.

    Lastly, without know what model the Mac is, how could one say how much it is. If it is a desktop model, then it is just a keyboard. If it is a notebook; then it will be more expensive.
     
  13. buxton2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
  14. Jisuo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #15
    Default aurora wallpaper + transparent menu bar. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page