White icons on Desktop

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by desertman, Feb 5, 2015.

  1. desertman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #1
    After updating to OS X 10.10 many of the icons on my Desktop are now plain white. Repairing permissions did not help. Is there a remedy for this?
     
  2. Partron22 macrumors 68020

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #2
    This AppleScript to rebuild the Launch Services database may be of some help to you:
    Code:
    -- Rebuild Launch Services DB
    -- BP2013
    -- Modified from:
    -- Adam Bell 2013
    -- http://macscripter.net/viewtopic.php?id=40534
    
    say "begin"
    set flushLaunchSvcDB to "/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Support/lsregister -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user"
    do shell script flushLaunchSvcDB
    delay 1
    do shell script "killall Finder"
    say "done"
     
  3. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #3
    This bug was fixed in 10.10.2
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    I'm on 10.10.2 and am still having the issue. I haven't tried the script though (I didn't even know that the issue was widespread until I found this thread).

    Edit: It seems to mainly (only?) affect Safari icons (.webloc files).
     
  5. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #5
    Are Application icons and Preview white? The original bug was application icons showed as blank white, preview worked fine.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    Preview icons are fine. When you say application icons, do you mean aliases, or actually copying the .app bundles onto the desktop (both of which seem OK at this end), or something else?

    It's possible that we're talking about two different issues here; this thread seems to cover the same symptoms that I'm having.
     
  7. joedec, Feb 5, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2015

    joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #7
    The application's icon is used for aliases, files and the application itself.

    Bugs not fixed I just checked. Funny thing is if you display an icon size over 144x144 in the Finder they appear.

    I know I checked this at 10.10.2 ship, they must get corrupted. Another thing I noticed its not every application that has this problem, for example on my machine TextWrangler files look fine but Office 2011 doesn't.
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    I'd misunderstood what you meant by application icons but I see what you mean now. It does seem to be the same problem; it's just that .weblocs are the only non-previewable files that I currently have on my desktop. If I drop others on there then they work at first, but I suspect that I'll lose the icons again at some point in the future.
     
  9. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #9
    FYI - I did a clean install of 10.10.2 (14C109) last night for various reasons. I Time Machine restored only user files, and installed Applications clean also. The icon bug is resolved now.

    Prior, this Mac had run 10.10.1 and the 10.10.2 Betas, all upgrades.

    I have never felt the need to clean install the Mac OS, looks like things have changed, or it could be from the Betas.
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    I've never had the betas; this was a clean install of 10.10.1 (and the problem happened there too), upgraded to 10.10.2. It's therefore not due to the upgrade process.
     
  11. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #11
    So it could be carried over from 10.10.1 to 10.10.2
     

Share This Page