Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FrankySavvy

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 4, 2010
Long Island, NY
Should I exchange my space grey iPad Air 2 for a white/gold, kind of have buyers remorse now that I have the black. Colors seem to pop more on the white, I am a graphic designer and plan to do a lot of digital painting and design on the iPad, what's a better color?

cannono

macrumors 6502a
Oct 21, 2014
Should I exchange my space grey iPad Air 2 for a white/gold, kind of have buyers remorse now that I have the black. Colors seem to pop more on the white, I am a graphic designer and plan to do a lot of digital painting and design on the iPad, what's a better color?

Black. Better perceived contrast. Suits film and photo display standards. Directors don't handle their movies on white bezel TVs (no one does).

cannono

macrumors 6502a
Oct 21, 2014
doesnt matter. your content is on the screen, not the bezels - so are your eyes.

It does matter. That's why few TVs have those show floor silver bezels and none have white bezels. Darker is better for perceived contrast.

puma1552

Suspended
Nov 20, 2008
It does matter. That's why few TVs have those show floor silver bezels and none have white bezels. Darker is better for perceived contrast.

theres no proof of this, anywhere -its purely subjective, or as you said, perceived.

im not sure what a show floor silver bezel is.

tvs are black because white tvs are just ugly and collect dirt due to the static electricity. they have made white tvs in the past, they get filthy and discolor to yellow, which is why they really arent common. plus tvs usually go against white/whitish walls.

haruhiko

macrumors 604
Sep 29, 2009
But do Colors seem to pop more on white?

Why? Why does a bezel have to do with the color of the screen?

I prefer black bezels because it distracts my attention less, especially when under sunlight.

Last edited:

ipadlvr