White Screen of Death

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mykbibby, May 26, 2008.

  1. Mykbibby macrumors 6502a

    Mykbibby

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Palm Springs, CA
    #1
    Hi everyone, I am currently using an iMac, just got it two weeks ago. I had a weird error in which I would force quit an app (FCP), and it would say that it force quit, but then the light would still be on, and right clicking it would force quit it. I then thought it might be a Finder problem, so I relaunched it, and the same thing happened. It was completely unresponsive. So I tried shutting it down, which it wouldn't do, so I decided to just pull the plug. Now when rebooting, instead of the white screen with the Apple Logo and the chime, I get the white screen, the chime, and no Apple logo (pictured), and it's been stuck on it for 20 minutes. I pulled the plug again, and the same thing is happening. I really need someone to help me out!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
  3. Mykbibby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mykbibby

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Palm Springs, CA
    #3
    Hard Drive failure?!?!?!?!?!?!? I have soooo much important stuff on there!!!
     
  4. Mykbibby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mykbibby

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Palm Springs, CA
    #4
    Okay, I fixed it. I shut down my external hard drive. The logo came on, I turned the HD back on, and now it works. Thanks Julien!
     
  5. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #5
    Now that you have it working, I suggest that you back up your important stuff, as you call it, in case the HD really does fail.
     
  6. Satori macrumors 6502a

    Satori

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    You should try restarting from your install disks and run disk utility over your HD as a first step. This used to happen to me all the time on my old eMac!!!

    EDIT: Sorry posted at the same time the OP said they had fixed it!
     

Share This Page