white_screen_on_avi_files

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by BabaG, Oct 5, 2007.

  1. BabaG macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #1
    i've been getting some avi files from an xp based
    system and they don't read on my system. i don't
    get an error, they just appear, both in the qtplayer
    as well as in fcp as a white screen. the play cursor
    moves but the screen remains white. don't know about
    audio as these are silent files. i believe all these
    files are uncompressed, sometimes in somewhat unusual
    formats, like 1024x768.

    could someone please point me toward a way of
    troubleshooting this? i could request another format
    but this looks like a limitation on my and apple's
    part so i'd rather just get it working as opposed to
    calling attention to the limitation.

    might this be something to do with colorspace? if
    the files are uncompressed, how would a codec be
    involved?

    thanks for any pointers,
    BabaG
     
  2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    You don't have the right codec installed on your machine. You can ask the guy who's making what codec he's using and see if it is available for the Mac or you can use a pretty universal codec like Animation.


    Lethal
     
  3. BabaG thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #3
    thanks lw. how would i associate a file like this with a
    specific codec like animation?
     
  4. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    You would have to have the guy who gave you the file export another copy for you using the animation codec.


    Lethal
     
  5. BabaG thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #5
    thanks again lw. how can i get him the animation codec
    so he can use it? is it a windows download? will installing
    qt give it to him? qtpro?

    thanks again,
    BabaG
     
  6. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    I don't know what software he is using, but the animation codec is very common. If he doesn't have it though, he can get it by purchasing QT Pro.


    Lethal
     

Share This Page