Whither Mac Mini?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by wfriedwald, Jan 1, 2017.

1. wfriedwald macrumors member

wfriedwald

I have been using a 2008 Mac Pro (since 2008, in fact) - it still works, but it takes forever to boot, and is somewhat buggy - though works overall very well for an eight-year old machine. (I refurb-ed some of it about four years ago, graphics card, DVD rom drive etc.)

Anyhow, for a while I have been thinking that I will replace it with the next iteration of the Mac Mini.

However, we all know that there hasn't been a new Mini since 2014 (and also that most people seem to like the 2012 better than the 2014).

So, my very basic question - do we think there might be a new Mac Mini in 2017? And if so will be it be an improvement on 2012 or 2014? Is it worth waiting for?

I know these are strictly educated opinions... there are no real hard facts out there on the subject.

Thanks!

w

2. Andres Cantu macrumors 68030

Andres Cantu

If there is a new Mac mini in 2017, and that's a big IF (no Mac Pro updates for 3 years), I could see them releasing one to match the specs of the 13" MacBook Pro without an OLED touch bar (2.0GHz Intel Core i5-6360U, which is around 40% faster than the current 1.4GHz Intel Core i5-4260U; 8GB of RAM standard, and perhaps a 256GB PCI-e SSD, although that one might be wishful thinking). They can also wait until the 7th-gen Kaby Lake processors that will be released soon, but let's face it, why would they update the Mac mini to those first out of all their products?

I was more hopeful for a new model before October 2016, but now, I'm not even sure they'll continue to update it :(

3. jpietrzak8 macrumors 65816

jpietrzak8

Well, yes, it really isn't possible to predict with any certainty what Apple will do with its line of desktop machines. We are talking about an enormous company with many talented employees and a gigantic bankroll -- they really could, at any moment, decide to pull a rabbit out of their hat.